See: Enslaved share psychedelic video for new track Urjotun

Norway’s progressive black metallers Enslaved have today released third single ‘Urjotun’ from their upcoming studio album ‘Utgard’ due 2nd October via Nuclear Blast. 

Vocalist Grutle Kjellson commented:
“The lyrical idea for Urjotun had been spinning around in the chaos in the back of my head for quite a while, when Ivar sent me the riff-demo last autumn. I knew instantly that this was it, the very soundtrack of the rise of the primeval giant, the Urjotun! Our mutual love and fascination for that early krautrock scene and for bands like Tangerine Dream and Kraftwerk, finally fully ascended in an Enslaved song, almost 30 years after we picked up those legendary kraut-albums. It’s funny, that in Germany they referred to this kind of music as “Kosmische Musik”, cosmic music! And, that is exactly what this song is about; cosmic chaos. On top of this, director David Hall, made a perfect projection and visualisation of our troubled minds”

You can hear the influences of the kraut-rock straight away. The math rock intro with the bass very much leading the way at first over jumpy synths. The metal does shine through with heavily distorted guitars in the background of the mix and the growled vocals to up the intense feeling of the lyrics.

Check it out, here

Find out more about the band via their Facebook

Pre order the album here

Utgard tracklisting:
1. Fires In The Dark
2. Jettegryta
3. Sequence
4. Homebound
5. Utgardr
6. Urjotun
7. Flight Of Thought And Memory
8. Storms Of Utgard
9. Distant Seasons

Previous Track: Leddie Mc - Those Were The Days
Next SEE: Dennis Ferrer - 'Sunny Days': bringing the togetherness groove for Defected

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.