Track: Joanne Shaw Taylor – Sweet ‘Lil Lies

Stacie Huckeba

After almost a year since the release of her last album ‘Nobody’s Fool’, Joanne Shaw Taylor has shared her new single, ‘Sweet ‘Lil Lies’, via Joe Bonamassa’s Journeyman Records. The song delves deep, reflecting the emotional journey of realizing a loved one’s immutable nature and the heart-wrenching decision to walk away.

Produced by Kevin Shirley (Aerosmith, Iron Maiden, Led Zeppelin, The Black Crowes) at the illustrious RCA Studio A in Nashville, TN, this song witnesses the magnificent collaboration of top musicians including Rob McNelly (Carrie Underwood, Luke Combs, Buddy Guy) on guitar, Doug Lancio (John Hiatt, Bob Dylan) on rhythm guitar, Alison Prestwood (Blake Shelton, Olivia Newton-John, George Benson) on bass, Jimmy Wallace (Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Gavin DeGraw) on keys, and Anton Fig (David Letterman, Kiss, Joe Bonamassa) on drums & percussion.

Taylor comments about the track:

“It was the first song I wrote just for this new album,” she recalls. “I’d been messing around with the lead piano part and built the rest of the song around that melody. As soon as I had that main melody, ‘I got sweet little lies, all the time’ stuck in my head on a loop. It probably took me less than an hour to finish it; some songs work like that.”

With a stinging lead riff, those smokey caramel vocals and an addictive chorus, Taylor has crafted another blues pop masterpiece. It’s the little phrasing twists and the catchy chord changes that pull you in and sweep you along, something Taylor has become a master of.

Check it out, here

Find out more via Taylor’s Website or Facebook

Previous Live Review & Gallery: Tex Perkins Man In Black, State Theatre Sydney 200923
Next Track: Sanjay - New Roads (Feat Lavva)

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.