Track: Joe Bonamassa – Well, I Done Got Over It (Guitar Slim Cover)

Adam Kennedy

Bonamassa is sharing the latest taste of the album; a rambunctious rendition of ‘Well, I Done Got Over It’, originally released by Guitar Slim in 1953. The track is taken from his upcoming new album titled ‘Blues Deluxe Vol. 2’ which is due the 6th of October via J&R Adventures. Vol 2 comes twenty years since the release of ‘Blues Deluxe,’. The album sees Bonamassa returning to his roots and taking stock of how far he and the genre have come, giving new life to the classic tracks that have that brought him to the Blues.

Bonamassa comments:

“My father introduced me to Guitar Slim a long time ago, back when I was a kid.  There was a compilation album called ‘Best of Guitar Slim’ and it was him on the cover and he was cradling one of these Gold Top Les Pauls and I was a fan ever since.  He has such a velvety smooth voice, and he had such a way of delivering a song. We did a very British take on this Guitar Slim song, it’s like the Blues Breakers meets Guitar Slim meets Joe Bonamassa, Josh Smith and company,”

“If you had told me 20 years ago my career would last long enough to see the 20th anniversary of this little record called ‘Blues Deluxe,’ I’m sure I would have laughed,” Bonamassa explains. “Blues Deluxe was my last shot after being dropped by two major record labels and my booking agent. It was then that my manager, Roy Weisman, had his first ‘all in’ moment. We would go back into the studio and record. A record that would hopefully define the direction of whatever future career I might have.”

“Part of my approach to these new recordings was that I wanted to see if I had matured musically over the years, and if I had gotten better as a player,” Bonamassa says. “I’m happy to say that I am a much better singer than I was 20 years ago – though I still don’t really consider myself to be a legit ‘singer,’ I can now carry a tune a little better than I could back then.”

With a deep dirty blues vocal and some blistering guitar wizardry, as expected from this man, this is a track that sticks close to what the blues are about. Chuck in some horns and the crash of drums and we have a big band extravaganza thats very close to perfection.

Check it out, here

Find out more via Bonamassa’s Website or Facebook

Blues Deluxe Vol. 2 by Joe Bonamassa

1. Twenty-Four Hour Blues (originally performed by Bobby “Blue” Bland)
2. It’s Hard But It’s Fair (originally performed by Bobby Parker)
3. Well, I Done Got Over It (originally performed by Guitar Slim)
4. I Want to Shout About It (originally performed by Ronnie Earle & The Broadcasters)
5. Win-O (originally performed by Pee Wee Crayton)
6. Hope You Realize It (Goodbye Again) *original song written by Joe Bonamassa & Tom Hambridge
7. Lazy Poker Blues (originally performed by Fleetwood Mac)
8. You Sure Drive a Hard Bargain (originally performed by Albert King)
9. The Truth Hurts Feat Kirk Fletcher and Josh Smith (originally performed by Kenny Neal)
10. Is It Safe To Go Home  *original song written by Josh Smith

Blues Deluxe Remastered by Joe Bonamassa

1. You Upset Me Baby
2. Burning Hell
3. Blues Deluxe
4. Man Of Many Words
5. Woke Up Dreaming
6. I Don’t Live Any Where
7. Wild About You Baby
8. Long Distance Blues
9. Pack It Up
10. Left Overs
11. Walking Blues
12. Mumbling Word

Pre-order the album from North America at
Pre-order the album from the UK and Europe at

Previous Live Review: McFly - Millennium Square, Leeds 06/07/23
Next Gallery and Set-list: Morrissey - Vicar Street, Dublin 15.07.2023

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.