Track: Maxïmo Park – Baby, Sleep

Maxïmo Park have announced details of their forthcoming new album ‘Nature Always Wins’, that will see release on February 26, 2021 via Prolifica Inc. Alongside this news they have shared the new single ‘Baby, Sleep’.

Frontman Paul Smith comments: 

“I’m so happy we were able to make this album during lockdown, as it’s been a challenging time for everyone. After almost 4 years since Risk To Exist, we wanted to explore new musical territory (for us) without sacrificing our trademark melodic twists and heartfelt lyrics.  As always, the passing of time looms large, although the songs contain more affection for the past than before, and there are occasional hints of the fractious, divided time that we live in. Baby, Sleep is a light-hearted look at the surreal nature of sleep-deprivation, and the way it distorts normality in a capitalist society.”

A typical sounding Maximo Park track, ‘Baby, Sleep’ is dominated by a thoughtfully played guitar this track is an exercise of economic song writing. Paul Smith’s tones are unmistakable on this indie/pop track and a welcome return for the North East lads.

Check it out, here

Find out more about the band via their Website or Facebook

Pre order the album here

Nature Always Wins – Track listing:

1. Partly Of My Making

2. Versions Of You

3. Baby, Sleep

4. Placeholder

5. All Of Me

6. Ardour (featuring Pauline Murray)

7. Meeting Up

8. Why Must A Building Burn

9. I Don’t Know What I’m Doing

10. The Acid Remark

11. Feelings I’m Supposed To Feel

12. Child Of The Flatlands

Previous Album Review: Loma - Don't Shy Away
Next TRACK: Lanterns on the Lake tease for December EP with 'Baddies'; tour news

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.