TRACK: Village of the Sun (featuring Binker and Moses) – Ted

Village Of The Sun is a new collaboration between UK jazz virtuosos Binker Golding and Moses Boyd and electronic music legend Simon Ratcliffe of Basement Jaxx fame. Their second single – Ted – is out on Gearbox Records.

You can get the track here.

The track is a true combination of the sensibilities of its collaborators, bringing great improvised jazz stylings with fantastically cool sax and drums atop some subtle electronica in a driving Balaeric rhythm. This melding of these different contributions creates an evocative explosion of freeform music that build to a satisfying crescendo.

Speaking about the collaboration, Ratcliffe says: “I’ve always liked improvised instrumental music. It has this intensity and eccentricity that takes me places. It connects with me deeply and resonates with me far more than traditional ‘songs’ with words. I approached Binker & Moses with these two tracks, just sonic skeletons really. They gave it flesh and blood – it was just left for me to dress it.”

Binker and Moses have previously collaborated with the likes of Kano, Little Simz, Four Tet, Floating Points, Sampha, Gilles Peterson, Elliot Galvin, Lonnie Liston Smith, Ed Motta and more. Their music effortlessly infuses the sounds and styles of jazz, grime, world and electronica. The pair picked up a MOBO award for their debut album ‘Dem Ones’ (2015) as well as two Jazz FM awards and a Parliamentary Jazz award.

Individually all three artists have forged incredible careers and this collaboration shows their ongoing search for something different and unique and their willingness to bring their creative thinking to make something that is more than the sum of their individual contributions. Contemplating on the new project, Binker said, “this is the future of life,” and in the context of both the song and artists place in the current sonic landscape, who would argue with that.

The track is available as a Rough Trade Exclusive – ltd. to 500 / hand numbered on 140g black vinyl and 140g burnt orange collector’s edition.

Previous TRACK AND VIDEO: Children of the State - Big Sur
Next Not Forgotten: Madness - The Dangermen Sessions Vol 1

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.