Track: We Were Promised Jetpacks change trajectory with new album ‘Enjoy the View’ and share their latest positivity-infused single ‘Fat Chance’

Acclaimed Edinburgh indie trio We Were Promised Jetpacks will release their much-anticipated, brand new album Enjoy the View on 10 September via Big Scary Monsters. Along with this announcement is the release of single Fat Chance. Following on from previous single If It Happens released via 7” – these new tracks signify a change in musical direction for the band, with Fat Chance an ode to overcoming – even thriving – despite the odds.

In the time since 2018’s The More I Sleep the Less I Dream, the rock outfit comprising Adam Thompson, Sean Smith and Darren Lackie have embraced change head-on. Amicably parting ways with founding member Michael Palmer the following year, they foresaw a likely sonic transition.

They commenced writing the new album at the end of March 2020, just before the world shut down due to COVID. A forthcoming US tour was cancelled. So, over the following months, the band sent each other ideas remotely, collaborating on the new project while in lockdown. Finally able to access their practice space that July, they jammed away and wrote some more. Fat Chance was a product of those earlier sessions.

“I was just messing about on guitar in our studio and got the verse chords and as soon as the other guys joined in, we had a song! We can sometimes spend weeks and months and years trying to get the right parts together but this one flowed.” -Adam Thompson

Longtime fans often cite We Were Promised Jetpacks’s flair for writing infectious pop songs with grandiose guitar rock soundscapes, however new single ‘Fat Chance’ is a change of pace and a glimpse of what’s to come from the forthcoming album. Its tightly packed drums and cleverly woven guitar arrangements show the band’s dexterity with melody. Fifteen years into their career, the trio are clearly more focused than ever. 

“We’re all very appreciative of the people who are listening to us,” Darren says. “It pushes us to keep getting better.” Nodding to both the band and their ever-loyal fans, Adam agrees. “It is very much our band, and we do this because we can do it together.”

 Pre-order ‘Enjoy the View’ HERE


December 2021:

2 Dec – Lemon Tree – Aberdeen, Scotland

3 Dec – Brudenell Social Club – Leeds, England

4 Dec – Whelans – Dublin, Ireland

5 Dec – Gorilla – Manchester, England

7 Dec – Village Underground, London England

8 Dec – Clwb Ifor Bach – Cardiff, Wales

9 Dec – Exchange – Bristol, England

10 Dec – Cluny – Newcastle, England

11 Dec – QMU – Glasgow, Scotland


February 2022:

8 Feb – Amsterdam, NL, Paradiso (upstairs)

9 Feb – Cologne, DE, Luxor

10 Feb – Hamburg, DE, Uebel & Gefarlich

11 Feb – Berlin, DE, Gretchen

12 Feb – Munich, DE, Ampere

14 Feb – Saarbucken, DE, Garage

15 Feb – Zurich, CH, Papiersaal

16 Feb – Wiesbaden, DE, Schlachtof

17 Feb – Luxembourg City, LUX, Rotondes

18 Feb – Antwerp, BE, Kavka

18 Feb – Paris, FR, La Boule Noire

Previous Album Review: An Early Bird's beautiful album 'Diviner' is a sparkling, romantic journey into the imagination

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.