Album Review: Atom Eyes Release Genre Diverse Debut Album ‘Blue into Gold’

Atom Eyes

The Breakdown

'Blue Into Gold' is loaded with funky tracks and chilled vocals it's a balm for the soul, with some chunky rock 'n roll thrown in for good measure. A preposterous, genre diverse musical odyssey.

Edinburgh-based band, Atom Eyes will release their debut album, ‘Blue Into Gold’ on 3rd June 2022 with the support of The National Lottery through Creative Scotland’s Open Fund.

Atom Eyes is made up of Lissa Chen Robertson on vocals, backed by award-winning jazz pianist Alan Benzie, guitarist Fraser Christie, drummer Scott Jamieson and bassist Tom Wilkinson. Atom Eyes first formed in 2017 when Chen Robertson and Christie starting writing together after a chance meeting at an Edinburgh flat party. Chen Robertson had worked with Jamieson and Benzie prior to this and they were invited to join the project. Jamieson knew Wilkinson from many a late-night Jazz Bar gig and thus, Atom Eyes was formed.

Atom Eyes have drawn on their diverse and eclectic backgrounds to capture a unique, neo soul sound on ‘Blue Into Gold’.

“There’s definitely obvious attention given to jazz, funk and neo-soul harmony throughout the album but each member fully expresses their own influences across each track. Alan might play some Robert Glasper piano tones, as I lay down an Incubus style riff, whilst Tom and Scott lock into a funk groove. We stick to our strengths but have found a formula to create great songs without compromising on our own personalities”.

Fraser Christie

The album kicks off with ‘Building Blocks’ a funky tune that showcases the amazing virtuosity of the musicians with Chen Robertson’s vocals lilting Erykah Badu-like over the complex instrumentation. On a previously released single, ‘You Do You‘ the band worked with Moonchild’s Andris Mattson, who contributed some glorious trumpet flourishes.

‘Daredevil’ is the album’s standout track-opening with just some sparse drumming it builds to a dramatic jazz rock crescendo with Chen Robertson’s vocals holding their own while the band delivers a musical tour de force. The next track, ‘Did You Know’ is a superb counterpoint to ‘Daredevil’ – a dreamy and swooning dollop of soul. ‘Running Away’ sees the band alchemist-like, mixing perfect pop with a smattering of jazz hooks to conjure up a melodic gold. And then, just when you think you know how to categorise Atom Eyes, along comes ‘Pinocchio’ – an eyebrow-raising fusion of hard rock and jazz. Completely unexpected and surely encompassing the best keyboard break since Jon Lord delivered Deep Purple their signature sound. I honestly cannot wait to see ‘Pinocchio’ played live. ‘Roll The Dice’ has a fat bass backtrack à la Michael Jackson’s ‘Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough’ and is just as seductively danceable.

The debut album by Atom Eyes showcases their musical virtuosity – it is a collection of diverse and funky pop songs with the some heavy rock thrown in for good measure. Unfettered by genre, Atom Eyes push musical boundaries as they invite you to join their preposterous musical odyssey. It’s an offer that impossible to resist.

‘Blue Into Gold’ will be released on 3rd June stream it HERE.

Atom Eyes – Blue Into Gold Tracklist:

  1. Building Blocks
  2. Smoke & Mirrors
  3. You Do You ft. Andris Mattson
  4. Daredevil
  5. Did You Know
  6. Running Away
  7. Pinocchio
  8. Blue Into Gold
  9. Roll The Dice
  10. Anticlock

Atom Eyes are set to embark on a tour of the UK:

2nd June 2022 – Hoochie Coochie – Newcastle
3rd June 2022 – Matt and Phred’s – Manchester
4th June 2022 – The Blue Arrow – Glasgow
10th June 2022 – The Mash House – Edinburgh
16th June 2022 – Doune The Rabbit Hole Festival
19th July 2022 – Belladrum Tartan Heart Festival

Previous Live Review: Tropical Fuck Storm / deadletter - Stereo, Glasgow 26.05.2022
Next Live Review: Enter Shikari / Trash Boat / As Everything Unfolds- Rock City, Nottingham 20.05.22

1 Comment

  1. […] Atom Eyes the Edinburgh-based jazz-soul collective have released ‘Smoke & Mirrors’ which is the fourth single off their debut album, ‘Blue Into Gold‘. […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.