Album Review: St Vincent Delivers on ‘All Born Screaming’

St Vincent

The Breakdown

'All Born Screaming' is a bold and adventurous album that highlights St. Vincent's musical prowess and her ability to push boundaries. With the addition of Dave Grohl's thunderous drums and a mix of rock, pop and reggae influences, this album is genre-bending masterpiece that showcases St. Vincent's unparalleled musical creativity.

‘All Born Screaming’ is St. Vincent’s seventh studio album and marks her first venture into self-production. It serves as the successor to her previous release, ‘Daddy’s Home.’ The album features an array of talented friends and collaborators, including Dave Grohl (watch St Vincent perform ‘Bleach’ with the members of Nirvana,) Foo Fighters’ recent addition Josh Freese, Justin Meldal-Johnsen, Cate Le Bon, and Stella Mogzawa from Warpaint.

Last year, St. Vincent paid tribute to David Bowie with a cover of ‘Young Americans,’ and much like the legendary Bowie, she possesses the ability to reinvent her persona with each album. Her artistic adaptability was further highlighted by her rendition of Kate Bush’s ‘Running up that Hill’ at the Rock ‘n Roll Hall of Fame in 2023. ‘All Born Screaming’ marks a significant departure from her previous work, ‘Daddy’s Home,’ showcasing her ability to evolve her sound and versatility as an artist.

With the legendary Dave Grohl on drums, the album packs a punch, delivering the “thunder” St. Vincent sought to complement her unique musical style. Grohl’s powerful drumming adds a dynamic layer to the album’s strong rock elements, creating an electrifying listening experience. This is particularly showcased on the lead single off the album, ‘Broken Man.’

The album is not just a rock powerhouse; it showcases St. Vincent’s ability to blend genres seamlessly. Tracks like ‘So Many Planets’ offer a reggae-inspired vibe, adding a laid-back, groovy feel to the mix. This diversity in sound keeps the album fresh and intriguing from start to finish.

One of the standout tracks, ‘Violent Times,’ feels like it could be straight out of a James Bond soundtrack. Its cinematic quality and sultry undertones demonstrate St. Vincent’s knack for creating music that is both dramatic and captivating.

The final track, which also lends its title to the album, is a collaboration between St. Vincent and Cate Le Bon. This track is a shimmering pop confection, with lyrics that offer a startling contrast to the song’s upbeat melody.

Overall, ‘All Born Screaming’ is a bold and adventurous album that highlights St. Vincent’s musical prowess and her ability to push boundaries. With Grohl’s intense drumming and a fusion of genres, the album captivates, leaving one to ponder the next evolution of St. Vincent’s sound.

‘All Born Screaming’ Track List:

  1. Hell is Near
  2. Reckless
  3. Broken Man
  4. Flea
  5. Big Time Nothing
  6. Violent Times
  7. The Power’s Out
  8. Sweetest Fruit
  9. So Many Planets
  10. All Born Screaming (featuring Cate Le Bon)

Previous Premiere: PARRIS MITCHELL examines himself on self-reflective banger 'Problem Child'
This is the most recent story.

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.