News: Cheltenham Pop-Rockers Nine Years Difference Share Infectious Debut Single ‘Where Are You Now’

Cheltenham-based pop rockers Nine Years Difference have set the music scene ablaze with their debut single, ‘Where Are You Now.’ The trio, comprised of brothers Tom and Wez Westwood and their close friend and collaborator Nick Matthews, has crafted a captivating track that seamlessly blends an 80s pop nostalgia with a fiercely modern flair.

‘Where Are You Now’ is an infectious summer anthem boasting 80s-inspired lead guitar hooks, punchy backing vocals, and dramatic strings. While the single doesn’t feature on their May-released debut album, it continues the musical journey laid out in ‘Buck The System’ LP. Notable American session players, including Stevie Blacke, Sean Hurley, and Brian Petry, lend their talents to this ambitious creation.

At the heart of the song are its evocative lyrics, inspired by a past summer romance of Tom Westwood. He recalls, “The lyrics are based on a past summer romance in my late teens when I attended a friend’s house party. It was a case of boy meets girl, boy falls in love with girl, girl meets another girl, boy goes home alone.”

Nine Years Difference draws from a diverse array of musical influences, fusing elements of Matchbox 20, Hootie and The Blowfish, The Wallflowers, and early inspirations like Goo Goo Dolls and Counting Crows, as well as contemporary artists such as the 1975 and Coldplay.

The single was expertly mixed by James Towler of Wincraft Studios, known for his work with Steve Winwood, Eric Clapton, and PiL. ‘Where Are You Now’ became available for streaming on all major platforms on August 25, 2023.

As Nine Years Difference continues to make waves in the music world, fans eagerly anticipate their future creations. This Cheltenham-based sensation is poised for a promising musical journey, one that’s sure to leave an indelible mark on the industry. Stay tuned for more chart-topping hits from this talented trio.

Listen below:

Previous News: McKowski returns with another new single ''Asking The Dust''
Next News: German metalcore quartet Mavis sign to Arising Empire & release video for new single 'Tortured Land'

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.