News: Drowning Pool Debut To Be Released On Vinyl For The First Time

Craft Recordings celebrates the 20th anniversary of Drowning Pool’s best-selling debut, Sinner, with the album’s first-ever vinyl release. Set for release on September 17, 2021, the nu-metal classic features such favourites as “Tear Away,” “Sinner,” and the band’s platinum-selling signature hit “Bodies.”

“Sinner is literally perfect. I remember hearing and seeing it all come together,”

says Drowning Pool frontman Jasen Moreno.

“We shared the local Dallas scene back then—Drowning Pool and an old band I used to be in—and I’d like to say we kept each other honest and made each other better through competition… but it was never even close. Dave and the guys were the dudes shaping the scene. I shared many stages with Drowning Pool before I was ever their lead singer, and I remember feeling hyped after each performance. I remember believing we’d finally upstaged them. I would have that hope right up until they took the stage and began to play, and then the truth was evident—Dave, Stevie, C.J., and Mike were always multiple steps ahead of any other band on the scene. The Sinner album was magic, and the guys were on fire. I believe that the record is perfect as a whole, full of catchy hooks both vocally and musically. I heard and saw those songs before a million other people around the world did, and I knew back then that Drowning Pool was destined to win. It feels crazy to go from a hater to their frontman, but let that be my testimony to the undeniable force that remains Sinner.”

“To be here marking twenty years of Sinner is just mind-blowing. There are so many memories of this record that I’ll carry for life,”

adds drummer Mike Luce.

“It would require a book to properly express all that’s in my head and heart and all that led up to and came out of its release. As a kid growing up and playing drums, I dreamed of being in a band with my buds and maybe someday putting out a record. Well, we did – and it kicked ass! Thanks to all that allowed this messed-up, work-in-progress of a soul to live a dream.”

Released in June 2001, Sinner became an instant classic, thanks largely to the success of its infectious first single, “Bodies.” The song hit the Top Ten on Billboard’s Mainstream Rock chart and No.3 on the UK’s Rock and Metal chart. It also appeared across multiple TV shows, ads and films, and became the theme song for several WWE events. Sinner, meanwhile, peaked at No.14 on the Billboard 200 and was certified platinum by the RIAA just six weeks after its release.

“Considering the huge success of Sinner, it’s hard to believe it has never been released on vinyl,”

says bassist Stevie Benton.

“Twenty years later, it’s finally happening… it’s about time!” Adds guitarist C.J. Pierce: “I can’t believe it’s been two decades since we introduced the world to ‘let the bodies hit the floor’ and helped teach young kids and parrots around the world to count to four. Some of the greatest times and best memories of my life are from when Sinner came out, so this vinyl release is really special. We can’t wait to see everyone out at the shows again, and we’re looking forward to rocking all these songs, and our newest songs live!”

In addition to the vinyl release, Drowning Pool is also celebrating the 20th anniversary of their debut album with a new record label, new music, a forthcoming new album, and this fall’s “Brothers in Arms” tour alongside longtime friends Ill Nino and (Hed) P.E. The upcoming new release will be the band’s third studio album with frontman Jasen Moreno, whose 2013 Resilience debut recently achieved gold sales status, making it the band’s second gold record to follow their platinum debut. Founding members C.J. Pierce (guitar), Stevie Benton (bass), and Mike Luce (drums) have played together for an uninterrupted 25 years, only further solidifying Drowning Pool’s presence as one of the new millennium’s premier hard rock / heavy metal crossovers.

Have a listen to the track ‘Bodies’, below

Pre order the vinyl here

In addition to the standard release, two special editions of the vinyl are available: a Revolver exclusive turquoise vinyl limited to 1,000 units and a band exclusive red vinyl limited to 666 units and only available through the band on their fall tour.

Sinner tracklist: 

Side A

  • 1.     Sinner
  • 2.     Bodies
  • 3.     Tear Away
  • 4.     All Over Me
  • 5.     Reminded
  • 6.     Pity 

Side B

  • 1.     Mute
  • 2.     I Am
  • 3.     Follow
  • 4.     Told You So
  • 5.     Sermon

Drowning Pool 2021 tour dates:

  • Sep 02 – Corpus Christi, TX @ Concrete Street Amphitheater
  • Sep 04 – El Paso, TX @ Speaking Rock
  • Sep 05 – Ozawkie, KS @ Paradise Point
  • Sep 06 – Iowa City, IA @ Wildwood
  • Sep 08 – Harrison, OH @ The Blue Note
  • Sep 09 – Columbus, OH @ The King Of Clubs
  • Sep 10 – Louisville, KY @ Diamond Concert Hall
  • Sep 12 – Concord, VA @ Blue Ridge Music Festival
  • Sept. 29 – Abilene, Texas @ Abilene Convention Center
  • Sept. 30 – Dallas, Texas @ Granada Theater
  • Oct. 01 – San Antonio, Texas @ Rock Box
  • Oct. 02 – Houston, Texas @ Warehouse Live
  • Oct. 04 – Destin, Fla. @ Club LA
  • Oct. 05 – Atlanta, Ga. @ Center Stage
  • Oct. 07 – Hartford, Ct. @ Webster Theater
  • Oct. 08 – Portland, Maine @ Aura
  • Oct. 09 – Hampton Beach, N.H. @ Wally’s
  • Oct. 10 – Worcester, Mass. @ The Palladium
  • Oct. 12 – New York, N.Y. @ Gramercy Theater
  • Oct. 13 – Pittsburgh, Pa. @ Roxian Theater
  • Oct. 14 – Flint, Mich. @ Machine Shop
  • Oct. 15 – Joliet, Ill. @ The Forge
  • Oct. 16 – Belvidere, Ill. @ The Apollo Theatre
  • Oct. 17 – Fort Wayne, Ind. @ Pierre’s
  • Oct. 19 – St. Louis, Mo. @ Red Flag
  • Oct. 20 – Milwaukee, Wis. @ The Rave II
  • Oct. 22 – Colorado Springs, Colo. @ Sunshine Studios
  • Oct. 23 – Grand Junction, Colo. @ Mesa Theater
  • Oct. 24 – Salt Lake City, Utah @ The Royal
  • Oct. 25 – Bozeman, Mont. @ The Elm
  • Oct. 26 – Missoula, Mont. @ Wilma Theater
  • Oct. 27 – Tacoma, Wash. @ Spanish Ballroom
  • Oct. 29 – Roseville, Calif. @ Goldfiend Trading Post
  • Oct. 30 – West Hollywood, Calif. @ Whisky A Go Go
  • Oct. 31 – Phoenix, Ariz. @ The Marquee Theater
Previous Album review: Merpire’s debut album ‘Simulation Ride’ is beautifully crafted rock serving to soothe the lost and lonely
Next News: It's the collab you need to hear - Tycho x Benjamin Gibbard on new single ‘Only Love’

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.