News: Iron Maiden Announce New Album, The Book Of Souls

Classic metal titans Iron Maiden have announced plans to release their 16th studio album The Book Of Souls on September 4th.

Not only is this their first album since 2010’s Final Frontier, it’s also their first ever double album- an absolute leviathan of a release, rolling in at 11 tracks with a running time of 92 minutes. With a broader split on the song writing this time around, The Book Of Souls sees bassist Steve Harris contributing to six of the tracks alongside others, and one track that he wrote alone. For the first time since 1984’s Powerslave, this album also features two tracks written solely by vocalist Bruce Dickinson- one of which being Empire Of The Clouds- at 18 minutes, it is the longest song Maiden have ever recorded!

The writing/recording process for the band over the past few years hasn’t been plain sailing, though. The release of this album was delayed in order to allow Dickinson time to fully recuperate after he was only recently given the all-clear from a tumour.

Dickinson’s illness forced Maiden to delay their touring plans, however the band promises to be back out on the road early next year. ‘The songs have an almost live feel to them, I think’, says bassist Steve Harris. ‘I’m very proud of The Book Of Souls, we all are. We can’t wait for our fans to hear it, and especially to take it out on the road next year!’

See the full track listing for The Book Of Souls here:

Disc 1
1. If Eternity Should Fail (Dickinson) 8:28
2. Speed Of Light (Smith/ Dickinson) 5:01
3. The Great Unknown (Smith/ Harris) 6:37
4. The Red And The Black (Harris) 13:33
5. When The River Runs Deep (Smith/ Harris) 5:52
6. The Book Of Souls (Gers/ Harris) 10:27

Disc 2
7. Death Or Glory (Smith/ Dickinson) 5:13
8. Shadows Of The Valley (Gers/ Harris) 7:32
9. Tears Of A Clown (Smith/ Harris) 4:59
10. The Man Of Sorrows (Murray/ Harris) 6:28
11. Empire Of The Clouds (Dickinson) 18:01 book of souls bigger

Iron Maiden: Facebook/Twitter

Previous Sheffield Doc/Fest Review: Breaking A Monster
Next Not Forgotten - Billy Bragg - Talking With the Taxman About Poetry

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.