News: Live Skull Announce new album ‘Dangerous Visions’ – A collection of new and old recordings, including unreleased tracks from their 1989 Peel Session

NYC’s Live Skull have announced a new album, ‘Dangerous Visions’, to be released via Bronson Recordings on December 11th. 

Emerging in the early 80s at the end of New York’s legendary No Wave scene alongside Manhattan comrades Sonic Youth and Swans, Live Skull reshaped the aggression of burned-out post-punk into heavy, guitar-driven rock. This new release showcases their evolution, with Side 1 featuring recently recorded tracks, whilst Side 2 digs into the archives and includes four tracks from their 1989 Peel Session, released here for the first time.

‘In A Perfect World’ the first single to be taken from the album, is fraught with the tension of our times. Sirens wail, then a bass crashes through. Cooped up in his apartment during “the darkest moment of the [COVID-19] shutdown in NYC,“ singer and guitarist Mark C wrote lyrics and recorded vocals while ambulances sped past outside. 

“I sat in the dark…and dreamed of a more perfect world to replace the damaged one we lived in,” he recalls. “But, as gritty guitar sounds and the incessant beat of the drum and bass line charged forward, I knew we belonged to this world of struggle and chaos.”

Check it out, here

With artwork by celebrated illustrator and cartoonist Gary Panter, ‘Dangerous Visions’ will be released on CD, white vinyl, transparent purple vinyl (limited to 100 copies), transparent red vinyl (limited to 100 copies) and digital download. The digital edition comes with a bonus extra track. It is available to pre-order here

Find out more about the band via their Facebook

‘Dangerous Visions’ track list:
Side 1 (2019-2020)
1. In a Perfect World (YouTube)
2. Debbie’s Headache (new version)
3. Day One of the Experiment
4. Dispatches
5. Twin Towers

Side 2 (1987-1989) 
1. Safe From Me (Peel Session)
2. Some One Else’s sweat (Peel Session)
3. Adema (Peel Sessions) (unreleased)
4. Amputease (Peel Session)
5. Tri-Power
6. Alive Again
Digital download bonus track: Paul Revere’s Bush (Tree Girl)

Previous TRACK: Alex Jayne - 'Clouds': acoustic pop details the moment you notice it's all changed
Next Track: Left Field Messiah - A.M Moonlight

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.