News: Luxed up and climate positive – Fratellis release deluxe version of acclaimed album ‘Half Drunk under a Full Moon’ with bonus tracks + new single ‘Alive’

image: david eustace

The Fratellis have released a deluxe version of acclaimed 2021 release Half Drunk Under A Full Moon via Cooking Vinyl, which includes eight bonus tracks (a darkly joyous version of Baccara’s disco classic Yes Sir, I Can Boogie anyone?) plus brilliant new single Alive.

The multi-platinum Glasgow band’s sixth album, Half Drunk Under A Full Moon became one of their most critically acclaimed. Jon Fratelli says: “We’re really happy with how the album has gone down – people really seem to have taken it to their hearts. The sound really suits our new band set-up, with the backing singers and brass, and the last run of shows was one of the best we have ever done.” Jon believes their second night at Glasgow’s iconic Barras was right up there with their finest hours.

The band will also be playing live at festivals across Europe this summer before joining The Kaiser Chiefs on their ‘All Together Now’ Arena Tour in November.

The Frats are working closely with international powerhouse the Future For Humanity Foundation to become one of the world’s first fully climate-positive bands. Partnering with Melinda Woolf and her Foundation has given them the opportunity to do much more in a fairly simple way. On their latest tour they took pre-orders for a hemp t-shirt in strictly limited numbers, with plans to expand the range. The plan is for the next tour to be 100% carbon neutral, the Foundation intending to work with their farmers to offset all carbon generated by the run of tour dates.

Jon Fratelli says: “Doing as much as we can to help in the urgent effort needed to ensure that our planet is pulled from the brink of irreversible and potentially devastating climate damage is something that is hugely important to us along with millions of others. We couldn’t have been happier when we heard how well the hemp T-shirt had gone down on our recent tour as its popularity meant that work could begin on new designs, meaning we’ll be able to offer a larger range of hemp made merch on our next run of live dates.”

“We are thrilled by their commitment to being climate positive in support of the Future For Humanity’s roadmap to 2030!” Melinda Woolf says of the band. “Their commitment and dedication is exactly what we need to ensure we solve the United Nations Global Goals and ensure a bright Future For Humanity for all.”

The Fratellis’ consistently brilliant songwriting over their long and storied career earned them the The King Tut’s Songwriting Award at the 2021 Specsavers Scottish Music Awards, where they brought the house down with a stellar performance. A Radio 2 Album Of The Week, Half Drunk Under A Full Moon was recorded in L.A. with the band’s long-term producer Tony Hoffer (Beck, Belle & Sebastian, Depeche Mode). To promote the album, The Fratellis appeared on The Late Late Show with James Corden and The Kelly Clarkson Show, and on The Chris Evans Breakfast Show on Virgin Radio, where they first performed “Yes Sir, I Can Boogie”, which then became a viral hit with over a million views on YouTube. The Fratellis also featured in the Sky Arts series The Live Revival, which shined a light on hard-hit small music venues, with artists giving one-off performances in the venues they gigged in at the start of their careers.

The Fratellis Half Drunk Under A Full Moon Deluxe Edition:

01 Half Drunk Under a Full Moon

02 Need a Little Love

03 Lay Your Body Down

04 The Last Songbird

05 Strangers In The Street

06 Living In The Dark

07 Action Replay

08 Six Days In June

09 Oh Roxy

10 Hello Stranger

11 Runaround Sue

12 Alive

13 Closing Time Again

14 Need a Little Love (The Skeletonic Sessions)

15 Laughing Gas (For Leonard)

16 Lay Your Body Down (Sloe Gin Version)

17 Hello Stranger (Old Fashioned Version)

18 Yes Sir, I Can Boogie

Previous Track: Brisbane's Full Power Happy Hour turn up the sunshine to eleven with 'Siblings' and announce series of launch dates.
Next Album Review: Royksopp return supreme with long-awaited new album ‘Profound Mysteries’

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.