News: Mute to reissue Suicide’s self-titled debut as part of the Art of the Album series

Suicide, the highly influential art-noise project of Alan Vega and Marty Rev, is having Mute’s Art of the Album treatment in a reisue of their 1977 debut album, due out on July 12th. As with the other releases in the series, there are no extra tracks, it is just the album as it was, remastered and presented with photographs and extensive sleeve notes by The Quietus’ John Doran, aas he charts the album (and bands) context, craft and significant legacy, which has gone on to influence everyone from Depeche Mode and New Order to The Jesus & Mary Chain and Nick Cave.
Taken from the album, check out Ghost Rider, here

Mixing up these punk riffs with early electronics (originally a broken-down Farfisa organ they couldn’t afford to repair), the track is like this swirling, mesmerising proto-rock ‘n’ roll classic, its hypnotic nature scuffed over by the melodies and the shards of electronic noise that sweep in and out.
Suicide formed in the early 70s, reemerging in 1976 at the heart of the New York punk scene. The band continued releasing and performing until 2015’s acclaimed Punk Mass at the Barbican, London and Alan Vega’s death in July 2016.
The vinyl edition comes with an exclusive art print, while the CD edition is packaged in hard back book format. An exclusive limited edition badge is included with early pre-orders:
SUICIDE’s groundbreaking debut album will be given the Art of the Album treatment and reissued on red vinyl, CD and digitally on 12 July 2019 via Mute / BMG.
Previous Track: Horror In Clay - Heck Cattle Grazing
Next Track: Tenderlonious - Hard Rain

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.