News: The Inspector Cluzo release new single ‘Swallows’

Photo Credit: Philippe Salvat

The DIY Guascon farmers are thrilled to announce the release of their second single Swallows, due out on 18thNovember 2022.

The single is taken from the band’s forthcoming ninth studio album Horizon set for release on 27th January 2023, via F.thebassplayer Records. 

Swallows video has been drawn by Cecilia Pepper and animated by Maxime Cazaux, it perfectly embodies the spirit of this track.  Swallows is quintessentially a The Inspector Cluzo song, it is more than a ballad, it brings to the frontline crucial issues we all face, with rock elegance, unbearable sadness and profound anger. 

The Inspector Cluzo comments: “At Lou Casse organic farm, we’re fortunate enough to see migratory birds such as swallows building their nest in the old barn. Pesticides used worldwide make it hard for swallows to find food, because bugs are being killed in the fields. Furthermore, the proliferation of urban zones prevents them to find proper shelter to raise their youngs. We can see them disappearing little by little. It’s ironic to know that the use of pesticides is said to “feed people” – most food on Earth is made using chemical agriculture techniques – whereas it destroys every little life around it. We decided to write a song about the swallows not only because they are so beautiful spinning around in the sky or flying over our organic wheat or corn field to get bugs for their kids, but also to point out that another agriculture is possible without destroying the world: agro-ecologic agriculture. Though it’ll be a long shot and a long fight before the modern society understands this.”
At Lou Casse, we’ve been trying out this agro ecologic system for more than 10 years now and are so fortunate to welcome swallows every year… “”

The band’s forthcoming record, Horizon, comes after the critically acclaimed LP We The People Of The Soil (2018) and the live album Brothers In Ideals – We The People Of The Soil Unplugged (2020). Recorded in three weeks and produced by Grammy Award winner Vance Powell, Horizon is the deepest and truest album The Inspector Cluzo have written to date. 

Each song shares and takes inspiration from real life events and experiences. For example: Wolfs At The Door, tells the story of the struggle the two farmers experienced when standing up against a duck factory located in front of their farm and the fight they had to put up when faced with a massive Bird flue pandemic. Saving The Geese describes the civil disobedience against the French State and the big local agro-industries corporations that wanted to kill the band’s healthy animals as “prevention”. Shenanigans re-evokes the great times the band spent in Nashville with their friend Bill Elder who run the Shenanigans bar and who put them up during all Nashville studio sessions. Rockophobia, on the other hand, is one of the surprises The Inspector Cluzo reserved for the fans, it is a funny rock number, in which the band wonders “what does rock mean today?” laughing at Iggy Pop, who later decided to feature on the track.
In keeping with their reputation as one the most prolific touring bands in the world (they have played over 1200 shows in 67 countries to date), The Inspector Cluzo completed sold out USA support tours with Clutch and Eels in 2019, alongside a host of festival appearances across the globe (including Lollapalooza Chile and Brazil) and a maiden US headline tour. In the summer of 2022 The Inspector Cluzo played extensively on prestigious stages across Europe, including the widely renowned Hellfest Festival, where they gathered a crowd of 50,000 fans.

Horizon Track-List

  1. Act Local Think Global
  2. Wolfs At The Door
  3. Running A Family Farm Is More Rock Than Playing Rock ‘n’ Roll
  4. Shenaningans
  5. The Outsider
  6. Swallows – Where are The Swallows Gonna Build Their Nest
  7. Horizon
  8. Rockophobia – feat. Iggy Pop
  9. The Armchair Activist
  10. 9 Billion Solutions
  11. Saving The Geese
  12. Swallows Back – When Will The Swallows Return
Previous News: Graphic Nature announce their debut album 'a mind waiting to die' with new single 'Killing Floor'
Next Track: Jared James Nichols Releases Live Performance Video Of 'Down The Drain' And Announces New Self-Titled Album

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.