News: The Sea and Cake announce European tour dates

The Sea and Cake have announced a European tour, which will follow the release of their new album, Any Day, out on Thrill Jockey on 11 May 2018.

Written and recorded following the departure of bassist Eric Claridge, Any Day is The Sea and Cake’s first album recorded as the trio of Sam Prekop, Archer Prewitt, and John McEntire. Since the release of their last album, the band have, in addition to shows, been creatively very busy: Prekop focusing on solo modular synthesizer and soundtrack work, including an acclaimed collaboration with artist David Hart; McEntire’s recording and touring with Tortoise, and maintaining a busy schedule as a recording engineer and producer; and Prewitt’s work as a cartoonist and illustrator, in addition to duo performances with Prekop. The band, still actively performing with bassist Douglas McCombs (Tortoise, Brokeback), were inspired by the challenge of composing as a smaller unit. Once the songs began to take shape, says Prekop, “we got really excited about it almost immediately – as soon as we started playing together.” 

The tour kicks off in Paris before travelling through Lisbon, Portugal and Spain where the band will perform at Primavera festival on 29 May. Dates then follow in Germany, Belgium and the Netherlands before the band return to the UK for headline shows at the MOTH Club in London on 5 June and at the Brudenell Social Club in Leeds on 6 June. Full details below, North American tour details to follow.


26 May – Paris (FR)
27 May – Lisbon, ZDB (PT)
28 May – Madrid, El Sol (ES)
29 May – Barcelona, Primavera Sound (ES)
31 May – Berlin, Frannz Club (DE)
1 June – Frankfurt, Zoom (DE)
2 June – Liège, Reflektor (BE)
3 June – Utrecht, Helling (NL)
4 June – Luxor Koln (DE)
5 June – London, MOTH Club (UK)
6 June – Leeds, The Brudenell Social Club (UK)

Previous Track: Zola Jesus - Bound, plus new album news
Next Say Psych: Album Review: Suuns - Felt

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.