Say Psych: News: Mayflower Madame release deluxe version of ‘Prepared For A Nightmare’ with 5 new tracks

Oslo based Mayflower Madame specialise in cinematic post-punk, with hints of dream-pop and psych-noir. They made their debut with LP Observed in a Dream in 2016 which created a buzz in the underground music press and earned them tours in both Europe and North America. Comparisons were made to bands like Bauhaus, The Cure, DIIV and The Black Angels.

Their second LP Prepared For A Nightmare came out in 2020 and this year sees the release of the deluxe version, which has five new tracks.

Through ten tracks of hypnotising psychedelia, shimmering shoegaze and 1980s dark romanticism, the album conveyed the wintry feeling of their home country Norway – icy and gloomy, haunting and majestic. It was released by French labels Only Lovers Records and Icy Cold Records in collaboration with US label Little Cloud Records. 

The band explain “making the final choice of songs for an album is always difficult. These are the five songs that didn’t make the cut for the original version; not because they were weaker, but because they didn’t quite fit in. However, all of them were considered too good to remain unreleased and together they turned out to be a very suitable epilogue to the album – a dynamic set of songs conceived in a nightly tinted emotional fever.”

Lead single ‘Dresden’ is “the sound of an intoxicating city night where a chance encounter changes your life forever. Psych-wave meets dream-pop, all swathed in smoke-laden atmospherics and nocturnal romanticism.

Buy here

Previous Live Review: Download Festival - 4 Day Review
Next Say Psych: News: Left of the Dial announce more bands and release budget guide

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.