See: Josh T. Pearson releases new video for Straight to the Top, plus European Tour Dates

JOSH T. PEARSON has shared the video for ‘Straight To The Top!’, a fast paced animation created by Pedro Carvalho, João Santos Ponciano, Laura Athayde and Marcos Vinícius.

Pedro Carvalho, a 21-year-old Brazilian graphic designer, who graduated from design school last year, was spotted by Pearson on Instagram and approached to make a video. He explains: “To be asked to make an animation for Josh’s single was a huge honor. Knowing that I couldn’t possibly make the video by myself, I called three friends: João Santos Ponciano, Laura Athayde and Marcos Vinícius, the most talented designers I could think of. The animation took around four weeks to complete and we couldn’t be more excited about it!”

‘Straight To The Top’ is full of manic energy, a thrashing country meets punk number, with a strong Iggy Pop vibe. The video is the perfect accompaniment to the song despite being an animated venture, which wouldn’t normally lend itself to this style. The mass of robots, motorcycle chases and fire actually just the thing to set it off.

Though he’s been a recording artist for over two decades now, and has been writing songs for thirty years, The Straight Hits! is only Josh T. Pearson’s second solo album, and follows his acclaimed debut, 2011’s Last Of The Country Gentlemen and 2001’s The Texas-Jerusalem Crossroads by Lift To Experience.

The Straight Hits! features multiple different flavours of country, rock and all points in between, taking in blasts of goofy shit-kicking country-punk (opener ‘Straight To The Top!’), cataclysmic rock’n’roll playing its romantic drama at high-stakes (‘Loved Straight To Hell’, which compresses the elemental power of Lift To Experience into five and a half minutes of symphonic turmoil); aching folksy mourn (‘Dire Straights Of Love’), and even a bona fide love song, the deliciously profound ache of ‘A Love Song (Set Me Straight)’, which Pearson admits breaks several of the Five Pillars, but obeys an unwritten Sixth Pillar: Musical rules are made to be broken.

‘Straight To The Top!’ is taken from The Straight Hits!, out on vinyl, CD and download via Mute Records on 13 April 2018 and will be on tour at the dates below:
15 May – UK, Leeds Brudenell Social Club
16 May – UK, Birmingham The Glee Club
18 May – IE, Dublin Whelans
19 May – UK, Glasgow Art School
20 May – UK, Manchester Gorilla
22 May – UK, London Shepherd’s Bush Empire
24 May – FR, Paris La Maroquinerie
26 May – BE, Belgium Rotonde Botanique
27 May – NL, Amsterdam Bitterzoet
28 May – DE, Cologne Gebäude 9
29 May – DE, Hamburg Knust
30 May – DE, Berlin Quasimodo
4 June – SE, Stockholm Kagelbanen
5 June – DK, Copenhagen DR Koncerthuset Studio 3
6 June – NO, Oslo Parkteatret
30 Aug–2 Sep – UK, End of the Road festival
13 Apr – UK, London Rough Trade West instore + signing, from 2pm
13 Apr – UK, London Rough Trade East instore + signing, from 7pm
14 Apr – UK, Bristol Rough Trade instore + signing, from 6.30pm
15 Apr – UK, Nottingham Rough Trade instore + signing, from 5.30pm
Previous Say Psych: Track Review: Ulrika Spacek - Lord Luck
Next Say Psych: Album Review: Dead Meadow - The Nothing They Need

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.