See: The Lottery Winners feat. Louise Wener – ‘Bad Things’: a sweet pop drop with sadness in its heart

Lottery Winners

LANCASHIRE’S Lottery Winners, who we last touched base with last month when they got it on with Frank Turner for the cans-aloft-in-a-field anthem in the making, “Start Again”, have got together with Sleeper’s indie femme fatale Louise Wener for a sweet pop drop with a little sadness in its heart, “Bad Things”; you can watch the video below.

They’ve been mixing it up on the sea shanty scene recently, taking Nickelback’s “Rockstar” out for a spin on the foredeck, which went viral, garnering a cool quarter-million views on YouTube already.

But they’ve shed their salty seadog oilskins for the proper pristine bubblegum of “Bad Things”, which gives a pop lift to those moments when, y’know, shit descends undeservedly.

It’s the second track to be taken from their forthcoming Start Again EP, alongside that title track with Frank Turner.

The voice that graced Britpop classics like “Sale Of The Century” and “What Do I Do Now”, Louise Wener joins Lottery Winners’ front man Thom Rylance and bassist/vocalist Katie Lloyd on joint vocals for “Bad Things”; she took little persuasion.

“I’ve loved this band since we first toured with them,” she said.

“In the darkest, most dismal days of lockdown their online performances have been a ray of musical light: funny, sweet, cool and important all at the same time.

“It was a joy to guest on this track – a pared-back and beautiful song, full of heart with their trademark lyrical bite and twist.”

Lottery Winners are also now looking to September for a return to the stage, announcing a rescheduled run of dates as follows:

· Wednesday, September 1st, Brighton, The Prince Albert;

· Thursday, September 2nd, Southampton, Joiners;

· Friday, September 3rd, Birmingham, The Castle & Falcon;

· Sunday, September 5th, Nottingham, Bodega;

· Tuesday, September 7th, Bristol, Thekla;

· Wednesday, September 8th, Leeds, The Key Club;

· Thursday, September 9th, Blackpool, Bootleg Social;

· Friday, September 10th, Wigan, The Boulevard;

· Saturday, September 11th, Stoke, The Sugarmill;

· Thursday, September 23rd, London, Oslo;

· Saturday, September 25th, Manchester, The Ritz, and

Thursday, September 30th, Sheffield, The Leadmill.

Tickets for all dates will be available from this Friday, with more information for existing ticket holders and booking links available at the band’s website and on social media.

The Start Again EP will be out on March 5th and is available for you to get your pre-order mitts on over at the band’s webstore on CD and vinyl rn, as they say; there’s also merch bundles in the offing. Go see.

“Bad Things” is out today via all digital service providers; connect with The Lottery Winners at their website, on Twitter, on Facebook and on Instagram.

Previous Album review: Cheval Sombre - 'Time Waits For No One': a luxuriant, timeless and meditative return
Next Track: Mike Lazarev - 'Finale': Ukrainian composer drops the final curtain from next week's delicious mini-album

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.