Melbourne’s Didirri has been attracting a lot of attention over the last year with his heartfelt and charismatic live delivery and for the strength of his songwriting. His new single, ‘Formaldehyde’ showcases his talent and style.

Inspired by the life and struggles of one of his favourite artists, Frida Kahlo, Didirri says “Formaldehyde is about nurturing the feeling of being out of control. Making sure you feel it to the fullest extent in order to resolve yourself. It’s not only about the feeling of being out of control but also one of pain. Specifically, when people ask you to let go of something you are not ready to let go of. When you can still see the beauty in holding on to something painful and ugly, and you can only let go of something when you can no longer see the beauty in holding onto it.

It is a slow-burning fuse that lights up with its intelligent thoughtful lyrics and Didirri’s expressive, melancholic vocals and haunting instrumentation.

You can listen to the song here

Didirri will be undertaking a tour across Australian in April and May – tickets available here:

Sunday 1st April – Boogie Festival, Tallarook
Friday 6th April – The Lansdowne, Sydney
Saturday 7th April – 48 Watts, Newcastle
Sunday 8th April – RAD, Wollongong
Friday 20th April – The Brightside, Brisbane
Friday 27th April – Howler, Melbourne
Thursday 3rd May – Mojo’s, Fremantle
Friday 4th May – Four5Nine, Perth
Thursday 10th May – The Grace Emily, Adelaide
Friday 11th May – Republic Bar, Hobart