Track: Devildriver – Through the Depths

Jeremy Saffer

As Devildriver enter their third decade with nine full-length albums, countless international tours and worldwide renown, they are more resilient than ever. In 2020, they released the first instalment of their two-part Dealing With Demons saga, ‘Dealing With Demons I’. They are now set to share the second part of the series with ‘Dealing With Demons Vol. II’.

Once again produced and engineered by Steve Evetts with additional engineering from guitarist Mike Spreitzer, ‘Dealing With Demons Vol. II’ is inarguably heavier and relentlessly harsher than its predecessor. The new album represents not only the most vicious of the two records, but also the darkest recesses of celebrated frontman Dez Fafara’s psyche and the final purging of his demons that have long haunted the band’s music.

Devildriver frontman Dez Fafara says about ‘Through the Depths’:

“‘Through the Depths’ is a conversation between a higher power and humans regarding the power of thinking ideas into existence, but being very careful of being arrogant behind those wants and needs. The first lines give this away: “Attention attention, you’re seeking, you’ve asked for, it’s given” (the higher power says). Then the lines of the chorus are that same higher power speaking to humans, saying: ‘through the depths to the ascension, nothing you wouldn’t do for my attention, held to the fire it’s not my crime, you’ve pinned it on me for the last time.’ Meaning – don’t blame the Gods (pin it on them) for your fuck ups. Meaning – put it out there and take steps to attain goals and take accountability. This track is the essence of Dealing With Demons Vol. II, and the conversations within the record get way deeper than even this. Enjoy.”

From a melodic start, the band bring a heavy downpour of crushing guitars of headbanging quality. With an ear catching signature delivery from Fafara and a masterclass in metal drumming from Davier Pérez. Fading out with some acoustic tinkering the band are still knocking it out of the park with their 10th studio album.

Check it out, here

Find out more via the band’s Facebook

Pre order the album here

Dealing With Demons Vol. II track listing:

  1. I Have No Pity
  2. Mantra
  3. Nothing Lasts Forever
  4. Summoning
  5. Through the Depths
  6. Bloodbath
  7. It’s A Hard Truth
  8. If Blood Is Life
  9. This Relationship, Broken

Dealing With Demons Vol. II will be available in the following formats:

  • CD Digipak (4 Panels)
  • CD Jewelcase (Signed) – Napalm North American mail order only, limited to 1000
  • 1 LP Gatefold Purple
  • 1 LP Gatefold Inkspot Splatter Yellow/Purple/Black with Slipmat – Napalm worldwide mail order only, limited to 500
  • Music Cassette (Yellow Tape/Black Print) – Napalm worldwide mail order only, limited to 100
  • 2x CD Digipak Dealing With Demons I Dealing With Demons Vol. II – Napalm European mail order only
  • CD Digipak (4 Panels) + Notebook + Metal Symbol Bundle – Napalm worldwide mail order only
  • Digital Album

Devildriver are set to play the UK’s BLOODSTOCK FESTIVAL this coming August, so UK headbangers can expect to hear some of these hot new tracks while setting new records for the highest number of circle pits in a single set then!

Before that though, Devildriver kick off the first leg of their ‘Double Trouble Live’ USA co-headlining tour with labelmates Cradle Of Filth tomorrow! Support comes from Black Satellite and ONI – see below for a complete list of those dates.


‘Double Trouble Live’ 2023 USA Co-Headline Tour Dates

w/ Black Satellite & ONI

  • March 8 – Tempe, AZ @ Marquee Theatre
  • March 9 – San Diego, CA @ Observatory North Park
  • March 11 – Santa Ana, CA @ Observatory – SOLD OUT
  • March 12 – Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades
  • March 14 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox
  • March 17 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Depot
  • March 18 – Colorado Springs, CO @ Sunshine Studios
  • March 19 – Denver, CO @ Summit Music Hall
  • March 21 – Houston, TX @ Warehouse Live
  • March 22 – Dallas, TX @ Amplified Live
  • March 23 – Austin, TX @ Come and Take It Live
  • March 25 – El Paso, TX @ The Rockhouse
  • March 26 – Albuquerque, NM @ Revel
Previous News: Robert Jon & The Wreck announce September 2023 UK Tour; Share New Single 'One Of A Kind'
Next Track: Baxter Dury - Aylesbury Boy

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.