Track: Diamond Head – Am I Evil

With the re-recording of the bands album ‘Lighting To The Nations’ due out November 20th 2020, via Silver Lining Music (see here). Diamond Head have shared the second single ‘Am I Evil’

‘Am I Evil?’ is the second single to be released from the album, ‘It’s Electric’ being the first’. Founding member Brian Tatler reminisces: 

“Am I Evil? Is one of the songs that Metallica covered. I got a call from Lars Ulrich on 20th September 1986 to say that Metallica were playing that evening as part of the Master of Puppets Tour, at the Birmingham Odeon which was the best venue in the Midlands to see bands.  Lars invited me along, so I caught the number 9 bus and picked up my backstage pass and was shown into Metallica’s dressing room.  I was then introduced to James Hetfield, Kirk Hammett and Cliff Burton.  Lars suggested that I get up and play ‘Am I Evil?’ on stage with them in the Encore, I of course agreed and after watching their amazing set for an hour I went backstage again where the guitar techs strapped James’s white Flying-V onto me.  Then Lars ran to the centre-vocal mike and introduced me as “the guy who wrote this next song!”.  The five of us played ‘Am I Evil?’ up to the fast section then Metallica went into ‘Damage Inc.’ and I scarpered off stage.  It was a brilliant experience!” 

This re-recorded version sounds bigger and heavier with the production quality being vastly improved to the original, which isn’t surprising considering the 40 year difference. The world ending riff and tapped guitar melody to open up still gives you the shivers, and the chorus is made for the live arena. This track ticks all the boxes for fans of all things metal.

Check it out, here:

Lightning To The Nations 2020 will be released on November 20th 2020, via Silver Lining Music. Available as a CD Digipak, Double Vinyl Album housed in Gatefold, digital formats and special D2C bundles.

Pre-order the album here

Find out more via the bands Website or Facebook

Lightning To The Nations 2020 Track Listing:

  1. Lightning to the Nations
  2. The Prince
  3. Sucking My Love
  4. Am I Evil?
  5. Sweet and Innocent
  6. It’s Electric 
  7. Helpless
  8. No Remorse
  9. Immigrant Song
  10. Sinner
  11. Rat Bat Blue
Previous News: Skindred set to re-release album 'Roots Rock Riot' on vinyl and announce 2021 tour
Next News: Belle and Sebastian release live album 'What To Look For In Summer'

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.