Track: Geoffrey O’Connor reveals the synth pop joy of ‘For As Long As I Can Remember (feat. Jonnine)’

Flutes never sounded so good as the arpeggiated riff that sinuously winds its way through ‘For As Long As I Remember’, the reflective and delicate track from singer/songwriter/producer Geoffrey O’Connor. Featuring the dulcet vocals of Jonnine from the band HTRK as a duet, this is an atmospheric and catchy synth pop tune that exudes an air of a lazy summer afternoon on the sunlight, with its themes of nostalgia and love.

The accompanying video, directed by Kate Meakin, is a beautiful shot of series of vignettes and performance pieces that seem etched out of dreams. Jonnine says of the video:

Like some high film students who broke into school on a Saturday night to use all the props. With cans of atmos spray, fans and romantic fabrics, had anyone ever combined the camp glam of Kenneth Anger films and Darren Star’s Younger?

O’Connor adds:

It’s a total luxury and so much fun working with two brilliant artists who have so many excellent ideas. Jonnine’s vocal delivery is such a unique balance of cool detachment, warmth and conviction. Kate’s BTS style video is a perfect fit and perfectly executed. I love wearing sunglasses indoors and I could wander aimlessly around that classroom having fabrics launched at me from an industrial strength fan forever. If it’s all downhill from here and I can totally deal with that because I’ve had enough fun.

The result is something shimmering and liquid that fits perfectly with the languid, lush air of the track.

‘For As long As I Can Remember’ is out through Chapter Music and available to stream and download here. The single is off O’Connor’s forthcoming album which can be pre-ordered/pre-saved here or ordered through the link below (where you can also down load this and O’Connor’s earlier single Foolish Enough (feat. Laura Jean):

Since his previous solo album,’Fan Fiction’ , O’Connor has released Crayon Fields comeback album ‘No One Deserves You’ (2015) and a deluxe reissue of 2009 classic ‘All the Pleasures Of the World’.

O’Connor has also produced albums for Sarah Mary Chadwick, June Jones, Summer Flake and others, appeared on records by The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart and Donny Benet, been remixed by Chet Faker, and was a member of Melbourne psych pop band Montero. He is also an in-demand video director, making videos for RVG, Bag Raiders, Sarah Mary Chadwick and many more.

Previous Track: Polish Club give us a resounding 'Whack' with their thumping new single and announce national tour on eve of album release
Next Track: Colleen Green unveils the cool and witty track 'I Wanna Be A Dog' and announces the release of the fittingly titled album 'Cool' for September

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.