Track: J Mahon – Gold States

Miriam Marlene

Coinciding with an 8 date nationwide tour this January, see below for dates, Berlin-via-Queensland singer/songwriter J Mahon has released his new single ‘Gold States’ a fuzz-pop reflection on delusional adolescence.

Recorded at London’s Haha sounds studio with Syd Kemp (Thurston Moore, Vanishing Twin) during the sessions for last year’s debut album Everything Has a Life, ‘Gold States’ sees Mahon reflect on the pains of young adulthood.

Mahon elaborates:

“’Gold States’ is loosely based on growing up in North Queensland, Australia. This idea of wanting something greater than I had and if I had just found this special ‘Gold State’ than everything in my life would make sense and I would be who I was meant to be. Whether the ‘Gold State’ was a mental place, or a physical place it didn’t matter.”

“As a teenager and into my early twenties I never felt like I fit in or had the same kind of confidence as others around me. I didn’t really even know who I was. It seemed like everyone I knew had some kind of identity and a certain trajectory to their life – but I felt like a kind of chameleon. Especially when it came to music and art it never made sense for me to stay in the same kind of genre or have one specific kind of image. In terms of writing songs i’m glad I am this way though, and in my personal life I have slowly found who I am.”

Gold States floats along like a dreamy escapism of laid back psyche that is delightedly fuzzy and beautifully written. J Mahon is a craftsman who, as much as I want to shout to the world about, I would rather keep his music to myself such is the joy I get.

Check it out, here

Upcoming Tour Dates:

  • 17 JAN // Southampton – Heartbreakers
  • 18 JAN // Brighton, The Hope And Ruin
  • 19 JAN // Bristol, The Lanes
  • 20 JAN // Newcastle, Xerox
  • 23 JAN // Glasgow, The Hug and Pint
  • 26 JAN // Blackpool, The Bootleg Social
  • 27 JAN // London, The Waiting Room
Previous News: Kim Gordon announces second solo album & drops new video
Next News: US bluesman, Albert Cummings set to release new album, Strong

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.