Track: Ronin Arkestra – Cosmic Collisions

Mark de Clive Lowe, the Japanese/New Zealand composer, producer and multi-instrumentalist has brought together some of the major players in the Japanese jazz and electronic scene to form his new project, Ronin Arkestra. It features members of Kyoto Jazz Sextet, WONK, Cro-Magnon, Root Soul, Sleepwalker, Sauce81 and Kyoto Jazz Massive, with Mark commenting “The members of Rōnin Arkestra are some of my favorite musicians anywhere and the way we all come together in battle formation with so much heart and soul is making magic,” .

Ahead of the bands debut album ‘Sonkei’, out on September 27th via Albert’s Favourites, they’ve released a new track, Cosmic Collisions. It’s a heavy dose of Spiritual Jazz, bubbling away underneath these extended horn lines, and as it gradually unfurls, so the funk is brought to the table, with this spidery bassline and sweeping electronics / keys.

‘Sonkei’ is released 27th September via Albert’s Favourites

Previous Blu-ray Review: Asylum
Next Fantasia Festival 2019 Review: Hard-Core

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.