Track: The Cult return with classic new single ‘A Cut Inside’ ahead of new album ‘Under The Midnight Sun’

The gloriously jangling thunderous sound of The Cult is back with their new single ‘A Cut Inside’ out today. It has all the hallmarks of their previous work: a magnificent mélange of delicate jingle jangle arpeggiated guitar and fuzzy, dirty power chords from the legendary Billy Duffy, supporting Ian Astbury’s dramatic urging vocals with mountainous choruses and a theatrical, cathartic bluster.

The rich, luscious psychedelic video (directed by Juan Azulay) captures the inherent heavy metal/mystical theatricality The Cult has perfected ever since their dramatic turn to noise and excess in ‘Electric’ – the album that dragged a million fey indie kids mesmerised by the gothicism of ‘She Sells Sanctuary’ into the world of hard rock.

‘A Cut Inside’ is available to download and streamed here.

The Cult have also announced details of their forthcoming album ‘Under The Midnight Sun’, out on 7 October through Black Hill Records.

‘Under the Midnight Sun’ was produced by Tom Dalgety (Pixies, Ghost, Royal Blood). You can pre-order the album here. And today, the band has revealed the eight tracks that make up the album.

Under The Midnight Sun track list:

  1. Mirror
  2. A Cut Inside
  3. Vendetta X
  4. Give Me Mercy
  5. Outer Heaven
  6. Knife Through Butterfly Heart
  7. Impermanence
  8. Under The Midnight Sun
Previous Live Review: Independent's 16th Birthday Party - Independent, Sunderland 03.09.2022
Next News: Psych royalty King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard announce phenomenal three album release schedule in October and unveil video for 'Ice V' ahead of extensive tour dates.

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.