Track: The Streets – Call My Phone Thinking I’m Doing Nothing Better

The Streets a.k.a Mike Skinner has dropped the first track from his forthcoming mixtape, None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive, and already has fans and critics alike eagerly awaiting what’s to come – given the breadth of talent involved.

Titled “Call My Phone Thinking I’m Doing Nothing Better”, Skinner teams up with Australian psych-garage outfit Tame Impala for the track, which has already been heralded by BBC Radio 1’s Annie Mac as her “Hottest Record”.

The original plan had been to release a TONGA album, but “as night moved to day, and day moved along to night, it… just didn’t happen.

Instead, a new mixtape None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive steps up to take its place. Recorded between work on the accompanying film to The Streets new album, it is the unpredictable sonic continuation of those parties.

The album boasts not only the likes of Tame Impala but South London rapper Jesse James Solomon, drum ‘n’ bass artist Chris Lorenzo and socially progressive punks IDLES, to name a mere few.

None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive will be released via Island on 10th July and is available for pre-order here.


Album artwork

1. Call My Phone Thinking I’m Doing Nothing Better (ft. Tame Impala)
2. None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive (ft. IDLES)
3. I Wish You Loved You As Much As You Love Him (ft. Donae’O and Greentea Peng)
4. You Can’t Afford Me (ft. Ms Banks)
5. I Know Something You Did (ft. Jesse James Solomon)
6. Eskimo Ice (ft. Kasien)
7. Phone Is Always In My Hand (ft. Dapz on the Map)
8. The Poison I Take Hoping You Will Suffer (ft. Oscar #Worldpeace)
9. Same Direction (ft. Jimothy Lacoste)
10. Falling Down (ft. Hak Baker)
11. Conspiracy Theory Freestyle (ft. Rob Harvey)
12. Take Me As I Am (with Chris Lorenzo)

Previous See: Billy Talent Release New Single and Lyric Video for "I Beg To Differ"
Next Meet: We interview Pete Astor on The Loft reissue and more

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.