It seems Unknown Mortal Orchestra’s Ruban Nielson has gotten a fresh kick of inspiration in the form of new song “First World Problem”. The track debuted back at the end of May and seemed as if Nielson was using 2015s Multi-Love and that record’s groovy R&B-inflected vibe as the launching point for this new song. A mix of R&B, disco, and Nielson’s own brand of rock and soul the song feels like Ruban Nielson giving into his inner Prince wholly and completely. And now UMC have shared the new video for the track co-directed(along with James Lees) by choreographer and dancer Kiani del Valle.

Kiani del Valle had this to say about the video:

“With First World Problem, I aimed to create a dialogue between both art forms. I wanted the video to be the response to Ruban’s lyrics and musical melodies rather than showing literally what the song is saying. There are always two sides to one story and the video piece is her side of the story. I am a heavy fan of silent films and how unspoken language could add a second layer to the one we speak. The directorial collaboration with James Lees came really organically as we have been planning for a while to do something together. James is really good at storytelling and has a great eye, while I am more abstract and conceptual. Producer Jason Baum was the key element of magic, making everything happen gracefully.”

Watch the video below, and get out and see Unknown Mortal Orchestra at one of the following shows.

UNKNOWN MORTAL ORCHESTRA TOUR DATES:
Tue. July 19 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom
Wed. July 20 – Pontiac, MI @ Crofoot Ballroom
Fri. July 22 – Oro-Medonte, Canada @ WayHome Music & Arts Festival
Sat. July 23 – Ottawa, ON @ Ritual Nightclub
Sun. July 24 – Burlington, VT @ Signal Kitchen
Mon. July 25 – Portland, ME @ Port City Music Hall
Wed. July 27 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Thu. July 28 – Providence, RI @ Fete Ballroom
Sat. July 30th – New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage
Sat. Aug. 13 – Eau Claire, WI @ Eaux Claires Festival
Wed. Aug. 17 – Paredes De Coura, Portugal @ Paredes de Coura
August 18-21 – Wales, United Kingdom @ Green Man Festival
Fri. August 19 – Hamburg, Germany @ Dockville
Fri. Aug. 26 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre
Sun. Aug. 28 – Portland, OR @ MusicFest NW (Project Pabst)
Tue. Aug. 30 – Petaluma, CA @ Lagunitas Brewing Company
Thu. Sept. 1 – Santa Monica, CA @ Santa Monica Pier
Fri. Sept. 2 – Berkeley, CA @ The Greek Theatre – UC Berkeley w/ Tame Impala
Sat. Sept 3 – Berkeley, CA @ The Greek Theatre – UC Berkeley w/ Tame Impala

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kB5w-GXYFIY&w=560&h=315]