Album Review: The Witching Tale – ‘The Witching Tale’

The Witching Tale - Photo: Karla Da Silva Styling: Rebecca L Sweeting

The Breakdown

Mediaeval Baebes/Miranda Sex Garden's Katherine Blake and Coil/The Utopia Strong's Michael J. York team up to deliver a stunning, hauntingly beautiful debut album - The Witching Tale

Take multi-instrumentalist Michael J. York (Coil, The Utopia Strong) and the incredible vocal talents of Katherine Blake (Mediaeval Baebes), and the end result is something totally out of this world – folklore and mysticism, early Arabian and Mediaeval music, first millennia Eastern poetry blended together with Poe, Scott and Chesterton.

The result is an ethereal mix of early music, traditional instrumentation, modern analogue synth parts, field recordings, and Blake’s trademark haunting vocals. It’s a beautiful album, melding elements of the centuries-old with modernity – electronica and jazz stylings sit comfortably alongside pagan imagery, plainsong, hurdy-gurdy, and woodwind, delivering new tellings of traditional tales; ‘Roundelay’ mixes metallic, mineral-like chimes and droplets with playground sing-song nursery-rhyme and mournful strings.

‘Where The Sea Snakes Curl’ mixes a submarine soundscape with synth and recorder, telling the tale of a Scottish Kelpie; ‘The Falling Garden’ is a tale of sex-magick, whilst album closer and title-track ‘The Witching Tale’ brings us ancient, folkloric woodland spirit.

Featuring guest musicians Charlie Cawood, Kavus Torabi, and the beautiful, shimmering soprano of Katharine and late Flesh For Lulu and Urban Voodoo Machine guitarist Nick Marsh’s twelve year old daughter, Rosa, ‘The Witching Tale’ is an incredible debut album, ten tales of sex, loss, longing, and rebirth, a celebration – and warning – of the power of eroticism, mysticism, and deep, forbidden magick.

‘The Witching Hour’ is released on 5th November 2021; pre-order now via Bandcamp.




  1. The Beckoning
  2. Roundelay
  3. Dahna
  4. The Queen Rides Alone
  5. The City In The Sea
  6. The Web Is Broken
  7. Spirans Amore
  8. Where The Sea Snakes Curl
  9. The Falling Garden
  10. The Witching Tale
Previous See: Mystic Peach howl towards their debut EP with 'It's Not Their Future'
Next News: Beirut to release a double set of early and rare material, 'Artifacts', in the spring; delight in 'Fisher Island Sound'

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.