News: Big Country’s “Road To Damascus” LP Released As 4CD Boxset By Cherry Red Records

Driving To Damascus” is the eighth studio album by Scottish rock band Big Country, released in 1999.  It was the last to feature the trademark guitar sound of Stuart Adamson, who died in 2001. I was also bassist Tony Butler’s last album with the band, having retired from the band in 2012, before 2013’s The Journey album, featuring Mike Peters from the Alarm on vocals, was recorded. The album marked a significant departure from the band’s signature sound, as they experimented with a more modern and polished production approach. Despite facing challenges, including lineup changes and a changing musical landscape, Big Country showcased their resilience and creativity on this album, delivering a collection of emotionally charged and introspective songs.

Driving To Damascus” features a diverse range of musical styles, incorporating elements of alternative rock, folk, and even electronic influences. The band embraced a more introspective and reflective tone in their lyrics, delving into themes of personal growth, self-discovery, and the complexities of modern life. While the album received mixed reviews upon its release, it remains an intriguing chapter in Big Country’s discography, showcasing their willingness to evolve and experiment with their sound.

Although “Driving To Damascus” did not achieve the commercial success of their earlier works, the album stands as a testament to Big Country’s artistic integrity and ability to adapt to changing times. It reflects the band’s continued dedication to their craft, as they sought to push their creative boundaries while staying true to their core musical identity. Despite the challenges they faced, Big Country’sDriving To Damascus” remains an intriguing and worthy addition to their catalog, offering a unique glimpse into the band’s artistic evolution and the ever-changing landscape of rock music.

‘Driving To Damascus’ features the classic Big Country line up of Stuart Adamson (vocals/ guitar), Bruce Watson (guitar), Tony Butler (bass) and Mark Brzezicki (drums) and was recorded in the legendary Rockfield Studios in Wales.

Album highlights ‘Somebody Else’ and ‘Devil In The Eye’ were co-written by Ray Davies of The Kinks. Eddi Reader is guest vocalist on the single ‘Fragile Thing’. Ian Grant (Big Country manager from 1981 to 2013) has written the sleeve notes, giving a personal insight into the album’s genesis.

Cherry Red Records have subsequently released it as an expanded 4CD box set, which you can buy here

Road To Damascus – CD 1 Original Album plus Nashville Sessions

1 Driving To Damascus

2 Dive Into Me

3 See You

4 Perfect World

5 Somebody Else

6 Fragile Thing

7 The President Slipped And Fell

8 Devil In The Eye

9 Trouble The Waters

10 Bella

11 Your Spirit To Me

12 Grace

Nashville Sessions

13 Driving To Damascus

14 Perfect World

15 Fragile Thing

16 Dive Into Me

17 Chance

18 Look Away

CD 2 – B-sides & Alternative Mixes

1 I Get Hurt

2 John Wayne’s Dream

3 Dust On The Road

4 Loserville

5 This Blood’s For You

6 Camp Smedley’s Theme

7 Sleep There Till Dawn (Sleep Until Dawn)

8 Another Misty Morning

9 Fragile Thing (single edit)

10 Somebody Else (single edit)

11 Dive Into Me (Rafe Mix)

12 Perfect World (Rafe Mix)

13 The President Slipped And Fell (Vocal Up Mix)

14 Devil In The Eye (Vocal Up Mix)

15 Bella (Vocal Up Mix)

16 This Blood’s For You (Rafe Mix)

17 Fragile Thing (Vocal Up Mix)

18 Your Spirit To Me (Vocal Up Mix With Middle 8 Vocal In)

CD 3 – Demos Disc 1

1 Driving To Damascus (1st Version)

2 Dive Into Me

3 See You

4 Perfect World

5 Somebody Else

6 Fragile Thing

7 The President Slipped And Fell

8 Devil In The Eye

9 Trouble The Waters (1st Version)

10 Bella

11 Your Spirit To Me

12 Grace

13 I Get Hurt

14 Loserville

15 This Blood’s For You (demo)

16 You Want Me To Go

17 I’m On This Train

18 Small Town Big News

CD 4 – Demos Disc 2

1 Driving To Damascus (2nd Version)

2 Trouble The Waters (2nd Version)

3 This Blood’s For You (alt mix)

4 You Want Me To Go (alt mix)

5 I’m On This Train (alt mix)

6 Ages Of A Man

7 Birmingham

8 Sun And My Shadow

9 Living By Memory

10 Don’t You Stay

11 Cimarron

12 Second Time Around

13 Without Wings

14 Daystar

15 Medicine Show

16 Sweet November Nothings

17 Simple’s Always Best

18 Soldier Of The Lord

Previous News: Unfamiliar Things Delights with EP 'A Stream Through the Valley'
Next News: Melvins - Atlantic Recordings Reissued By Cherry Red Records

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.