News: Brisbane punk rock royalty WAAX release new single ‘Read Receipts’: Album ‘At Least I’m Free’ dropping in August + special guest performances with The Amity Affliction

credit: james caswell

Ahead of the highly anticipated release of second studio album At Least I’m Free (out 5 August via Dew Process), Brisbane’s WAAX share their vividly charged new single Read Receipts alongside the accompanying music video. Of the powerful track, lead singer Maz DeVita says: “We’re pretty excited to let this one out as it’s perhaps our best songwriting effort in our opinion (and Bernard’s). This one came together super fast.”

A track brimming with honesty and intensity, DeVita’s distinctive vocals show the anger, abandonment and disappointment of being left on ‘read’. She explains: “James and I were writing together on the Sunshine Coast and immediately the melody and lyric fell out. It’s literally about being left on read and being left in the cold with no answers. I was definitely feeling those feels at the time.”

Reunited with Director Phoebe Faye (Dangerous and Help Me Hell), the fierce official video captures an awe-inspiring performance from DeVita, as she channels the energy, rage and emotion of the song.

“The video was a huge step for me as I had never really acted as a character in anything before, I was totally outside of my comfort zone,” says DeVita. “It’s like a mafia inspired moment where I play the boss or ‘the Donna’ and I’m doing a deal with this nondescript man with a helmet. Most people know I love to do things that relate to my Italian heritage so it was super fun to explore this concept. Phoebe and her team really helped us create an epic vibe – especially the car scenes! Super slick and a fun and different vibe for us,” -Maz (WAAX)

On At Least I’m Free, WAAX teamed up with the production team behind their debut breakout album Big Grief – Bernard Fanning (Powderfinger) and Grammy Award-Winner Nick DiDia (Bruce Springsteen). The album will not only feature Read Receipts, but also QMA Award winning single Most Hated Girl, Help Me Hell and the Linda Perry co-written track Dangerous. There are also some fresh collaborations, including US rock superstar K.Flay on the standout ‘No Doz’. The result is an honest and indignant album laden with raw vulnerability and contrasted by the high-octane energy WAAX is renowned for. 

The four-piece have also announced an exclusive solid 925 sterling silver pendant individually carved with the WAAX logo, designed in collaboration between DeVita and Onyx Handmade. Each piece is made by hand, with no moulds or mass production. The pendants are available now to pre-order for one week only from the band’s website, this pendant comes not only with an album download, but also with hand written lyrics to Read Receipts.

The new music follows on from WAAX’s sold-out national Dangerous tour, where they teased new music and celebrated their compelling discography to date.  Next, the Meanjin based four-piece will be back on the road in July as they accompany The Amity Affliction for shows in Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, and Perth.



Tuesday 12 July – Forum Theatre, Melbourne VIC

Wednesday 13 July – Forum Theatre, Melbourne VIC

Thursday 14 July – The Roundhouse UNSW, Sydney NSW

Friday 15 July – The Roundhouse UNSW, Sydney NSW

Friday 22 July – Thebarton Theatre, Adelaide SA

Saturday 23 July – Metro City, Perth WA


1. Mermaid Beach

2. Read Receipts

3. A Man Like Me

4. No Doz

5. Most Hated Girl

6. Beam Me Up

7. Dangerous

8. Jeff On The Streets

9. Help Me Hell

10. Same Bitch

11. Whoever



Previous Blu-Ray Review: Crazy Mama
Next Live Review: Bo Ningen / Lunch Money Life - The Sound House, Dublin 09.06.2022

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.