News: COMATOSE – Debut album on the way!

Minnesota-based atmospheric rock/grungegaze unit COMATOSE – featuring members of Chrome Waves, Amiensus, and Fail To Decay – will release their A Way Back debut January 22nd, 2021 via Transcending Records.

COMATOSE began in the winter of 2019/2020 with a group of musicians — Jacob Carlson (Fail To Decay), Daren Menz (Fail To Decay, Chrome Waves-live), Adam Carroll (Fail To Decay, Lion Sight, The Boy Will Die), and James Benson (Amiensus, Chrome Waves, Fail To Decay) — who previously worked together for several years experiencing the true life and daily grind of the touring musician, gathering their shared experiences of long drives, cheap beer, and muff pedals to manifest a hazy, grungy, post-metal
mix of audio paradise. Notes Benson of the name, “‘Comatose’ was chosen as the name of the band as a result of being a part of ‘the lost generation.’ Faced with multiple major global economic crises, domestic racism and terrorism, a pandemic, and climate change, it only felt right to choose something that reflected the mental health of an entire generation.”

Recorded, mixed, and mastered by Zach Zurn at Carpet Booth Studios, A Way Back is the sound of the existential dread of musicians in 2020 who’ve had their way of life quite literally torn apart by the chaos of the year. Thankfully, one can easily melt into the lush melody and reverb, or fall into the despair of the delay laden vocals through the diverse, yet familiar album that will likely bring listeners back to the mid1990s without sounding dated or derivative.

A Way Back Track Listing:

  1. Circles
  2. Gone
  3. Alone
  4. Skin
  5. Spread
  6. Inside
  7. Further
  8. Sinking

Jacob Carlson – drums
Adam Carroll – guitar, vocals
James Benson – guitar, vocals
Daren Menz – bass, vocals

Previous EP Review: Emma Ruth Rundle & Thou - The Helm of Sorrow
Next Blu-Ray Review: JSA – Joint Security Area

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.