News: Enslaved announce new album details

Norwegian extreme metal outfit Enslaved have announced details of their 13th studio album.

The album will be entitled In Times, and will feature hand painted art work from Truls Espedal- someone who the band have long-term collaboration connections with, and ‘sixth Enslaved member’. The band’s guitarist and composer, Ivar Bjørnson, describes the new material as ‘extentions of my inner and outer life’, detailing that this album is inspired-higher in energy, yet beautiful and subtle.

Despite the fact In Times will only be six tracks long (see track listing below), the complete album running time comes it at a hefty (for six songs anyway) 53 minutes! Recorded mainly in Bergen, Norway, never a band to do things by halves, Enslaved carried out ‘additional experimentation’ and ‘sonic exploration’, deep in the woods in Valevåg, south of Bergen.

‘The songs are the resounds of grandiose altered states and mundane tiny micro-events.  In addition, they are, of course, also the result of inspiration from other music and art.  I do think this new album is the most consistent body of work we have so far: It incorporates our ‘blacker’ past with our influences from prog rock, our present sense of absolute freedom, and the joy of being in this band, if that makes any sense…’ So with that said, all signs point to promising results from Enslaved’s latest efforts!

The track listing for In Times is:
1  Thurisaz Dreaming
2  Building With Fire
3  One Thousand Years Of Rain
4  Nauthir Bleeding
5  In Times
6  Daylight

Keep an eye out for In Times to drop in the UK on March 9th 2015, and you can also catch Enslaved at Bloodstock Open Air Festival, which will be held next year on August 6th-9th.

And there’s some older Enslaved for you here!


Previous EXCLUSIVE! : Pusher - '10,000 Hours' - Exclusive first stream + interview.
Next News: Make Do and Mend announce new album for March 2015.

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.