News: Glüme releases new album ‘Main Character’

Photo Credit: Ryan McBride

Electro-pop évocateur Glüme releases her brand new album, Main Character, released via independent record label Italians Do It Better.


The album is released alongside a new music video for ‘Queen Of LA’, which features on the album. The video is set to premiere today, 17th February, at 2pm. The music video was directed by Manny Liottaand is available to watch below.

 Main Character was produced by Johnny Jewel and Sean Ono Lennon, and contains features from Rufus WainwrightSTRFKR and Of Montreal (Kevin Barnes). Throughout the album, Glüme epitomizes refined artistic excellence. With a sound that oscillates between dance-focused aesthetics and sumptuous ballads, listeners are offered a diverse and textured catalogue in which to delve into. Glüme’s music is an extension of herself as she approaches all of her art with a clear vision of who she is and what she represents.

The cover art for Main Character was shot by Andrea Riba, who also photographed the artwork for Glüme’s 2021 debut album, The Internet.

The release of Main Character follows singles ‘Flicker Flicker’‘Do Me A Favor’, and ‘Dangerous Blue’, all of which feature on the new album.

Speaking about the release of Main CharacterGlüme said: “The album began with me trying to deconstruct what was going on with my love life. I felt I needed to be more than just myself, like a hotel with extra amenities, in order to be loved. As I was collaborating with these amazing people I would introduce myself and so often my child acting would come up as probable reason for a lot that was wrong. I found old journals from when I was child and I was heartbroken. I was never a child. 

Working with Sean Ono Lennon, Kevin Barnes (Of Montreal), Josh Hodges (STRFKR) and Johnny Jewel was the dream for my vision as they are such brilliant minds. My dream collaborator, I’ve even said in interviews, has always been Rufus. This album makes me feel very lucky. I think I did good by the part of me that was young and thought anything was possible.”

Main Character Track Listing
Child Actor (with STRFKR)
Do Me A Favor
Brittany (with Sean Ono Lennon)
Dangerous Blue
Main Character feat. Rufus Wainwright
Wedding Cake Shop (with Kevin Barnes Of Montreal)
Flicker Flicker (with Johnny Jewel)
Garden Of Allah (with Sean Ono Lennon)
Heaven (with STRFKR)
Queen Of LA (with Sean Ono Lennon)
Female Role Model
Main Character Overture
Child Actor (Reprise) 

Previous News: Fire From The Gods launch new single 'Thousand Lifetimes' (featuring Corey Glover of Living Colour)
Next News: Sydney Experimental Electronic Newcomer Harry Klein Releases New Album 'And Then There Was None'

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.