Brit Pop five piece Shed Seven, who scored a handful of hit albums, as well as 16 top 40 singles in the heady 90s, have announced their first studio album in 16 years, alongside their biggest ever UK tour. Not details yet on the exact release, other than ‘later in the year’, but the band are heading into the studio to record an album of songs that have been two years in the writing.

Frontman Rick Witter explains “We’ve spent the last couple of years writing and demo-ing secretly and have more than an album’s worth of material that we can’t wait to share with you. We feel now is the right time. We’re looking forward to ‘Shedcember’ where it will be business as usual, you’ll get to hear all the songs you rightly should expect to hear but this time with a light sprinkling of new music to top it all off. Thanks for all the support over the years, we’re really excited about this new chapter for Shed Seven and hope you’ll continue to be part of the journey with us, and trust me, this album will be well worth the wait.”

To get you in the mood, as if it were needed, here’s On Standby

Pre-order the album here:

Website – www.shedseven.com
Pledge – www.pledgemusic.com/shedseven

And check out the bands Deccember dates, here

Fri 01 Dec: Glasgow O2 Academy
Sat 02 Dec: Newcastle O2 Academy
Mon 04 Dec Blackburn King Georges Hall
Tue 05 Dec Stoke Victoria Hall
Thu 07 Dec Cardiff Uni Y’Plas
Fri 08 Dec Nottingham Rock City
Sat 09 Dec Sheffield O2 Academy
Mon 11 Dec Norwich The Nick Rayns LCR, UEA
Tue 12 Dec Bournemouth O2 Academy
Thu 14 Dec Bristol O2 Academy 1
Fri 15 Dec Birmingham O2 Academy 1
Sat 16 Dec London O2 Brixton Academy
Mon 18 Dec Leeds O2 Academy
Thu 21 Dec Hull City Hall
Fri 22 Dec Manchester Academy 1