Track: Beths back with new track and announce upcoming Album

The Beths

The Beths have just released a new track ‘Silence Is Golden’ which is taken from their upcoming album, Expert In A Dying Field, out on the 16th September via Carpark Records.

The band, which consists of Elizabeth Stokes (vocals/guitar), Jonathan Pearce (guitar/vocals), Benjamin Sinclair (bass/vocals), and Tristan Deck (drums) were, like so many other artists, hugely impacted by the Covid pandemic and lockdowns. The new album was recorded at Pearce’s studio on Karangahape Road in Tāmaki Makaurau, Aotearoa (Auckland, New Zealand) – and sometimes in the building’s cavernous stairwell! When the Beths were interrupted by a four-month national lockdown the composing continued. The band members traded notes remotely for months, songwriting from afar and fleshing out the arrangements alone, the first time they’d written together in such a way.

The new track kicks off with an attention-grabbing drumroll which then morphs into an insistent off-beat that propels the song forward with stabbing guitars somewhat dichotomously countering Stokes’s vocals as she sings about silence being golden – “The sound, the sound, the sound, the sound, the sound, the sound, the sound, the sound / I’d burn the city to the ground to turn it down”.

‘Silence is Golden’ has been released with an accompanying video that features the band playing in a garage – complete with car and microwave oven!

Photo credit: Frances Carter

The Beths – Expert In A Dying Field album tracklist

  1. Expert In A Dying Field
  2. Knees Deep
  3. Silence Is Golden
  4. Your Side
  5. I Want To Listen
  6. Head In The Clouds
  7. Best Left
  8. Change In The Weather
  9. When You Know You Know
  10. A Passing Rain
  11. I Told You That I Was Afraid
  12. 2am

Pre-order the album HERE.

The Beths will be heading out on an American tour – view the dates HERE.

Previous EP: Opus Kink - 'Til The Stream Runs Dry
Next News: Conan Gray to tour Australia & New Zealand in November

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.