News: Wolf Alice announce new album ‘Blue Weekend’ and unveil epic, anthemic single ‘The Last Man on Earth’

Legendary indie band Wolf Alice have announced their return with news of a new album entitled ‘Blue Weekend’ scheduled for release on 11 June via Liberator Music / Dirty Hit. To mark this great news, the band has also released a video for a new single off the album – ‘The Last Man on Earth’.

 The song’s themes reflect the anxieties of world today. Singer and guitarist for Wolf Alice Ellie Rowsell says,

It’s about the arrogance of humans. I’d just read Kurt Vonnegut’s Cat’s Cradle and I had written the line ‘Peculiar travel suggestions are dancing lessons from god’ in my notes. But then I thought: ‘Uh, your peculiar travel suggestion isn’t a dancing lesson from god, it’s just a travel suggestion! Why does everything need to mean something more?’

“The Last Man of Earth’ features all that we come to expect from Wolf Alice – indelible melodies, celestial choruses and bagfuls of attitude. It simply exudes cool.

A soft reflective beginning is spacious and haunting – an air of melancholia pervades with just piano and Rowsell’s soft voice creating an atmospheric beginning before a himalayan mountain- range sized chorus raises the hairs on the back of your neck – celestial layers of vocals shimmer and sparkle. The song and accompanying video breaks your heart and creates euphoria at the same time. A tremendous return from this very fine band:

This is truly cinematic an all senses.

Blue Weekend will be released on 11 June 2021 and will be available on limited edition red transparent vinyl, yellow transparent vinyl and green vinyl, as well as black vinyl, CD & all DSPs. You can preorder here.

Wolf Alice are Ellie Rowsell (vocals, guitar), Joff Oddie (guitar, vocals), Theo Ellis (bass) and Joel Amey (drums, vocals). 

Blue Weekend tracklisting:
1. The Beach
2. Delicious Things 
3. Lipstick On The Glass
4. Smile 
5. Safe From Heartbreak (if you never fall in love) 
6. How Can I Make It OK? 
7. Play The Greatest Hits 
8. Feeling Myself 
9. The Last Man On Earth 
10. No Hard Feelings 
11. The Beach II

Feature Photograph: Jordan Hemingway

Previous Track: Recall The remains - Darker Path
Next Premiere: Local Authority, Brisbane's shoegaze/dream pop trio, release evocative and psychedelic video for the blistering single 'Forever, For Now'

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.