Say Psych: Track: Gulp – I Dream of Your Song

Gulp, formed by Super Furry Animals’ Guto Pryce, Lindsey Leven and their long standing guitarist Gid Goundrey, have announced their new album All Good Wishes, which is schedules for release on the 3rd August via E.L.K Records.

Gulp are on a journey, a state of perpetual transition. The band make mini Kraut-pop epics, informed equally by the sun flares of the Californian desert and the drizzle of pure, sweet Scottish rain and northern light. Debut album Season Sun was a home-grown delight, a ramshackle, endlessly inventive selection of dreamy psychedelic nuggets to watch the world flash past. This time round, though, things are different. The birth of Guto & Lindsey’s first child has precipitated the previously Cardiff-based duo’s move to the Scottish East coast, and this turbulence – as welcome as it may be – has signalled a shift in the way the project operates, and the type of music they make.

The shoegaze laced, psychedelic tinged track channels lazy summer days spent in the sun, and invokes imagery of the surf. It features a lot of the characteristic sounds which fans have come to know and love as well as adding new elements that keep it interesting and fresh.

Previous Say Psych: Track: FLING - Extra Special
Next Track Review: Saltwater Sun - Hot Mess

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.