Track and Album News: Lightning Bug offers up stunning, dreamy, lead single ahead of third album release

Lightning Bug band picture.
Picture Credit: Ingmar Chen

Purveyors of dreamy, transportative musicscapes, Lightning Bug, have just announced the release of their third album – ‘A Color of the Sky’ – which is out on their new label, Fat Possum on 25th June; you can pre-order the album here.

Lightning Bug is the brainchild of musicians and friends Audrey Kang, Kevin Copeland and Logan Miley and on this latest release, the band has been rounded out to a five-piece, with the addition of Dane Hagen and Vincent Puleo as full-time members.

The album was recorded in a makeshift studio in the Catskills, and finds Lightning Bug sounding lusher and more complete than ever with the band’s songwriter Audrey Kang making a huge leap forward in terms of creativity and boldness on this release.

Lead single from the album is luscious, dreamy, and evocative “The Right Thing Is Hard To Do”, which has been shared along with a Melanie Kleid-directed video which is a beautiful, dream-like animation that matches the tone of the song perfectly.

“The Right Thing Is Hard To Do” is utterly gorgeous and wraps you warmly in it’s dreamy sound. It lives at the intersection of Mazzy Star and Slowdive with a pinch of Harriet Wheeler and some fabulous country slide guitar to create a unique and shimmering sound.

The song gives songwriter, Kang, the vehicle to express her anxieties about her self-worth and creates an otherworldly aesthetic which channels that sense of vulnerability directly to the listener’s ears. Of the song, Kang said:

“Here I wanted to connect how the struggles and flaws within the individual are mirrored in the greater problems of society. How do we as individuals know we are on the right path? How do we as a society, as a species, know we are on the right path? So I started with myself, and my own struggles, touching on how I hide myself away from other people, on my stage fright, on my inability to be vulnerable, on this feeling I used to have that I needed to prove I was worthy of being alive. Then I tried to connect these struggles outward to global issues like xenophobia, arbitrary borders, the lines we draw between ourselves and the environment, and the ways we sacrifice the health of the planet for human convenience.”

Lightning Bug recorded ‘A Color of the Sky’ together as a live band to help it feel more organic, dynamic, and full than their previous albums and lead single, “The Right Thing is Hard to Do”, certainly delivers that vision. We can’t wait to see it fully realised when the album is released on 25th June through Fat Possum Records.

A Color of the Sky‘ Tracklist:

  1. The Return
  2. The Right Thing Is Hard To Do
  3. September Song, pt. ii
  4. Wings of Desire 
  5. The Chase
  6. Song of the Bell 
  7. I Lie Awake 
  8. Reprise
  9. A Color of the Sky
  10. The Flash

You can find Lightning Bug online here: BANDCAMP | INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK

Previous Track: Feiertag - 'Saccharine 374': cool sunset nujazz preludes a full album in late May
Next Track and Album News: New Morning Blues announces debut album and single

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.