Track: Deerhoof – Your Dystopic Creation Doesn’t Fear You (ft. Awkwafina)

Deerhoof - Mountain Moves
They can move, move, move any mountain...

There are few bands who can still bring such chaos after 20 years as Deerhoof, and they’ve shared the storming new track “Your Dystopian Creation Doesn’t Fear You”.  Featuring call and response from Awkwafina, the band is introducing their new album Mountain Moves.  Both immediately accessible, and yet unlike much else you’ll hear this year, it’s a protest track you can dance to…

The new album will also feature such things as a collaboration with Læticia Sadier, a Staple Singers cover and Juana Molina.  The band say – “If Mountain Moves were a movie, it would be a double feature, Journey to the Center of the Deerhoof and Escape from Planet Deerhoof, shown side-by-side simultaneously.”  All we can know for sure is that whatever 2017 throws at us, Deerhoof will mirror it in strange and beautiful ways.

Don’t forget to check out the other preview track from the album – I Will Spite Survive – featuring Jenn Wasner of Wye Oak, (and the refrain “But you’re on TV, you’re expendable”).   The Mountain Moves album is out on September 8th on Joyful Noise Recordings.

There are a few live U.K. dates coming up as well:
03/09 : Dorset, UK @ End of the Road Festival
04/09 : London, UK @ Village Underground
05/09 : Ramsgate, UK @ Ramsgate Music Hall

Previous Film Review: The Work
Next Track: Portico Quartet - Endless

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.