Atlanta hard rock juggernaut Mastodon turns 20 this year! Whilst hard at work on their long awaited ninth full-length album, the band have chosen to celebrating two decades together, by releasing a rarities collection, ‘Medium Rarities’, this September 11th, on all formats including a pink vinyl pressing via Reprise Records. Among the many rare highlights included here is an unreleased track “Fallen Torches,” recorded in 2019. 

Along with the news the band have shared a track taking from the new rarities album – ‘Fallen Torches’ featuring guest vocals by longtime friend and collaborator Scott Kelly from the band Neurosis . ‘Fallen Torches’ was originally recorded back in 2019 and originally planned to be released in support of a European tour. However the track was delayed so the band could focus on the release of Stairway to Nick John, a tribute to their late, long time manager Nick John, with proceeds going to the Hirshberg Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer Research in his honor. 

In true Mastodon style this is a musical form of a club to the head. These guys know how to put theatre and intensity into their music. Desperate strained vocals over death dealing bass and those relentless drums. Mastodon do heavy like no one else.

Check it out, here

Pre-order and pre-save here.

Medium Rarities Tracklisting:

  1. Fallen Torches (Previously Unreleased)
  2. A Commotion (Feist Cover)
  3. Asleep in the Deep (Instrumental version)
  4. Capillarian Crest (Live)
  5. A Spoonful Weighs A Ton (The Flaming Lips Cover)
  6. Toe To Toes (Instrumental version)
  7. Circle of Cysquatch (Live)
  8. Atlanta (Feat. Gibby Haynes)
  9. Jaguar God (Instrumental)
  10. Cut You Up With A Linoleum Life (Aqua Teen Hunger Force)
  11. Blood & Thunder (Live)
  12. White Walker (Game of Thrones)
  13. Halloween (Instrumental version)
  14. Crystal Skull (Live)
  15. Orion (Metallica Cover)
  16. Iron Tusk (Live)

‘Medium Rarities’ presents a bevy of classic covers, soundtrack contributions, instrumentals, B-sides, and live recordings on one complete package for the very first time. Among an eclectic array of covers, the musicians tackle ‘A Commotion’ by Feist, ‘A Spoonful Weighs A Ton’ by The Flaming Lips, and ‘Orion’ by Metallica.

It also features soundtrack cuts such as ‘White Walker’ [Game of Thrones] and ‘Cut You Up With A Linoleum Knife’ [Aqua Teen Hunger Force]. Meanwhile, they get under the hood with instrumental versions of ‘Asleep in the Deep’, ‘Toe To Toes’, ‘Jaguar God’, and ‘Halloween’. 14 of these tracks have never been available on streaming platforms until now.

Previous See: Volcanova Release Video For New Single Super Duper Van
Next See: I Break Horses release live video for ‘I Live At Night’

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.