News: Peter Hook and the Light announce another tour to Australia and New Zealand in May 2024, playing ‘Substance’ – the best of New Order and Joy Division

It seems like only yesterday that Australia and New Zealand were graced with a tour by Peter Hook and the Light and it seems the mutual admiration continues, with the announcement of another tour next year. This time, Hook and his band will play the ‘Substance’ compilations – the best of New Order and Joy Division – in one glorious evening.

For the unaware, Peter Hook of course was the talismanic bass player in both legendary bands and has since forged a career playing the iconic songs and albums of these bands. Hook formed The Light to keep the music of Joy Division alive after lead singer Ian Curtis’s tragic death in 1980. Hooky has spent the last decade performing the works of New Order and Joy Division to sell out audiences around the world. These shows are the only way to experience Joy Division’s iconic discography performed with the sincerity and integrity of one of its founding members.

In my interview last year with Hooky, he stressed these gigs were not about being a carbon copy of the bands:

I would hate – I cannot imitate Joy Division – in the way that nobody could imitate New Order. New Order were New Order – they sounded unique. This to me isn’t New Order and never will be. Again, Joy Division were a three piece. Barney played keyboards or guitar. Joy Division were a very angular band – more aggressive than I play it now.

Peter Hook and the Light will be playing the following dates in May 2024:

Thursday 16th: Wellington, Opera House

Saturday, 18th: Auckland, Great Hall

Sunday, 19th: Christchurch, Isaac Theatre

Tuesday 21st: Adelaide, Hindley St. Music Hall

Wednesday 22nd: Brisbane, The Tivoli

Friday 24th: Sydney, Enmore Theatre

Saturday 25th: Melbourne, The Forum

Tuesday 28th: Perth, Astor Theatre


MYTM / Promoter Presale: Wednesday 2nd August, 12pm Local time – Friday 4th August, 11am Local Time

General Public: Friday 4th August, 12pm Local Time


The set list will be as follows:

New Order Substance


Everything’s Gone Green


Blue Monday


Thieves Like Us

The Perfect Kiss



State of the Nation

Bizarre Love Triangle

True Faith

Joy Division Substance


Leaders of Men




She’s Lost Control


Dead Souls


Love Will Tear Us Apart

Previous News: GUM (of Tame Impala and Pond) announces new album, unveils track and announces Australian/US tour
Next News: screensaver feel 'The Guilt': an angular post punk sonic shiver of a single on news of second album through Poison City Records

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.