News: The Lightning Seeds new single today from forthcoming album + tour dates.




The Lightning Seeds continue their welcome return with the release of brand new single EMILY SMILES. The track is the third to be taken from their new album SEE YOU IN THE STARS, their first for new label BMG out on 14 October, and follows previous singles Sunshine and Walk Another Mile.

EMILY SMILES – co-written with Specials man Terry Hall with whom Ian Broudie wrote Lucky You – is a big, infectious tune with a tight focus: human connectivity. “Emily Smiles is about miscommunication and lives being changed by small moments and random events,” says Ian of the track. ”It’s about desperation and the distances between us being unlocked with the magic inside a smile.” And talking about the accompanying video – directed by James Slater of Zomdic Films – Broudie added: “It reflects the sentiment in the song; communication is so important, and our differences are so often settled by the simple power of a smile.” Watch the video here:


The intoxicating 10 track SEE YOU IN THE STARS album is tunefully and emotionally uplifting, and kick started the summer with the feel good warmth of the first two singles, Sunshine and the sun soaked Walk Another Mile. Each of the songs on the album were written and recorded in short bursts over the last three years. The first two to be recorded, Great To Be Alive and Live To Love You, were co-written with The Coral’s James Skelly.


  • Losing You
  • Emily Smiles
  • Green Eyes
  • Great To Be Alive
  • Sunshine
  • Fit For Purpose
  • Live To Love You
  • Permanent Danger
  • Walk Another Mile
  • See You In The Stars

    In thirty three years as a recording artist Ian Broudie, the man who is LIGHTNING SEEDS, has sold a lot of records. Those include a million copies of Jollification, the 1994 album whose platinum success was spearheaded by the era-capturing single Change, and which Broudie recently celebrated with a sold out 25th anniversary tour. Broudie composed Three Lions as the official England song for Euro 96. With lyrics by comedians David Baddiel and Frank Skinner, the song reached #1 and became a genuinely era-defining record – and one with a remarkable afterlife as it regained the top slot two years later during the 1988 World Cup in France. It was everywhere during this summer’s Women’s Euros as the Lionesses brought football home.

SEE YOU IN THE STARS will be available on CD and standard Forest Green vinyl with a limited edition Transparent Midnight Blue vinyl available from the official artist store, HMV and independent retail. Presave / preorder HERE

LIGHTNING SEEDS embark on a 14 date UK tour this autumn as follows. Tickets available from:

Thu        27          CAMBRIDGE                      Junction
Fri          28          OXFORD                             O2 Academy
Sat         29          FROME                               Cheese & Grain

Thu        03          SOUTHAMPTON                The 1865
Fri          04          LONDON                            O2 Shepherds Bush Empire
Sat         05          LEEDS                                 Stylus
Sun        06          GLASGOW                          Old Fruitmarket
Thu        10          BIRMINGHAM                   Town Hall
Fri          11          NEWCASTLE                       Boiler Shop
Sat         12          LIVERPOOL                         Olympia
Thu        17          BRIGHTON                         Chalk
Fri          18          CARDIFF                             Tramshed
Sat         19          MANCHESTER                    Albert Hall
Sat         26          SHEFFIELD                          Leadmill


Previous Video Premiere: Tin Man Falls Share Visuals For Alluring New Single 'Black To Grey'
Next Track: Midnight Ambulance - Stained Cotton

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.