News: Deftones reissue their White Pony album along with a remix

To mark the 20th anniversary of their 2000 alt-metal opus, White Pony, Deftones are reissuing the album with a companion disc of remixes titled Black Stallion on Reprise / Warner Records.

With remixers include icons like Robert Smith of The Cure, DJ Shadow, and Mike Shinoda of Linkin Park alongside genre-bending heavyweights: dark-pop favorites Phantogram, electronic experimentalist Squarepusher, beatsmith Clams Casino, renowned record producer Salva and noise artist Blanck Mass, to name just a few.

The seed for Black Stallion was planted back in 2000 while writing and recording White Pony, which ended up going platinum and earning a 2001 Grammy for Best Metal Performance. Inspired by the sound-collage aesthetic of fellow Sacramento-area native Shadow, Deftones initially wanted the Endtroducing…. architect to remix the entirety of White Pony. Though that plan never came to fruition then, 20 years later, Shadow became a lynchpin of the curated collaboration roster that Deftones assembled for Black Stallion. On top of providing a fresh perspective on a classic album, Black Stallion is the ultimate testament to Deftones’ unparalleled genre-blurring influence. 

While White Pony (20th Anniversary Edition) is an opportunity for Deftones to reflect on their legacy, the band continues to move forward and explore new possibilities for heavy music. Last month, the group released its ninth album, Ohms, to widespread acclaim. The album entered the UK Album Chart at Number 5. It also entered the Billboard Top 200 at No. 5, making it Deftones’ fourth Top 5 and sixth to make it into the Top 10 in the US.  

Arriving in Ohms’ wake, Black Stallion’s radical remixes further cement the vanguard reputation of a band that is always thinking of the future, even as it looks to the past. 

The collection features an eclectic cast of contributors that reflects White Pony’s far-reaching impact across the worlds of metal, hip-hop, indie, and electronic music. White Pony (20th Anniversary Edition) will arrive on December 11, 2020.

Separate formats comprise of a 2 CD + Digital download,

Limited Edition Deluxe Box Set (2 Double LP’s + 2 CD’s),

and Vinyl Box Set (2 Double LP’s).

Pre order HERE.

Check out the video for the Purity Ring Remix of ‘Knife Prty’, below:

Find out more at the bands Website


  1. Feiticeira (Clams Casino remix)
  2. Digital Bath (DJ Shadow remix)
  3. Elite (Blanck Mass remix)
  4. Rx Queen (Salva remix)
  5. Street Carp (Phantogram remix)
  6. Teenager (Robert Smith remix)
  7. Knife Prty (Purity Ring remix)
  8. Korea (Trevor Jackson remix)
  9. Passenger (Mike Shinoda remix)
  10. Change (In the House of Flies) (Tourist remix)
  11. Pink Maggit (Squarepusher remix)
Previous Premiere: Sonny Winnebago releases new video for ‘Lemonade’
Next EP review: X Ray Cat Trio with Harriet Hyde - Bubblegum

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.