Premiere: The Yugoslav Attack blend smooth jazz with melancholy: Listen to new single “The Separation”

Backseat Mafia are excited to premiere the brand new single from Melbourne jazz assembly, The Yugoslav Attack. The Separation is the first track from their upcoming sophomore album titled Illusions, due for release in June through False Peak Records.

The Separation, featuring wonderfully understated musicianship, captures a feeling of complete despair and a state of facilitating thoughts of loneliness while in isolation. The track’s vocals are contemplative, rising gently above melancholy sax and gloomy keys. The result is an atmospheric dose of smooth jazz, infused with satisfyingly emo themes. The pauses between notes and the lyrical repetition in places serve to augment the sensation of drifting off on emotional tangents.

The song’s accompanying video (directed by Mark Soergel) is layered with nocturnal streetscapes and interaction, blurring the lines between reality and memory.  

The Yugoslav Attack’s bandleader and guitarist James Wiley (formerly of Newcastle indie/power-pop groups Hot Girls and Summer Policy) made good on his mission to recruit the very best musicians he could from a notoriously competitive Melbourne jazz scene. Together, the group bring to life Wiley’s musical compositions that span a unique combination of genres.

Providing the perfect soundtrack to a solo night drive, or simply a trip into introspection, these sounds will help you on your way. The Yugoslav Attack are unique and compelling in that they create Blue Note worthy jazz blended with 90s melodies, and more.

The Separation is out now through False Peak Records

Previous Track: Pacific Avenue pour some brilliant sunshine into their new track 'Easy Love' and announce Australia wide headline tour
Next Track: Black Stone Cherry - The Chain

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.