Track: Jade Hairpins – J Terrapin

Photo credit: Colin Medley.

Jade Hairpins is the new power pop band from Fucked Up drummer Jonah Falco and lead guitarist Mike Haliechuk. Falco switches to rhythm guitar and lead vocals for the project and Haliechuk to bass, and they’ve enlisted Jack Goldstein and Tamsin M Leach, two London musicians, on lead guitar and drums respectively. They’ve just released the video for ‘J Terrapin’, the follow-up to their 2018 debut single ‘Mother Man’. Check it out below.

The video illustrates its lyrics through the unique medium of 1960s-style vinyl cover art and the song blends the chiming guitars of the more college rock-leaning songs from the last Fucked Up album like ‘The One I Want Will Come For Me’ with the aching, searing, yearning vocals of Falco’s Lonely Wholesome solo project.

The album from which ‘J Terrapin’ is taken, ‘Harmony Avenue’, is due out via Merge Records on May 29th, and intriguingly promises to marry power pop with the influences of early 80s new wave bands like Orange Juice and New Order. Jade Hairpins recently embarked on a very successful debut tour of the UK, and their co-headline show with fellow Londoners High-Vis at The Fiddler in Kilburn went down a storm. ‘Harmony Avenue’ is available to pre-order now.

Previous Track: Corridor: Grand Cheval plus tour news
Next Track: Lorenzo Senni - Discipline of Enthusiasm

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.