Track: Yeah Yeah Yeahs are ‘Burning’ Ahead Of Release Of New Album

Yeah Yeah Yeahs

New York’s finest, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs have released a new single, ‘Burning’, produced by Andrew Wyatt. The track is off the band’s upcoming fifth studio album, ‘Cool It Down’, which will be released on 30th September via Secretly Canadian. ‘Burning’ is the second track to be released off the album, the band having previously released ‘Spitting Off The Edge Of The World‘ on which they collaborated with Perfume Genius.

‘Burning’ was written by Karen O whilst she was engulfed in the tumult of Los Angeles in 2020 — the fires and smoke bearing down on the city.

If the world is on fire I hope the most beloved stay protected and that we do all we can to protect what we cherish most in this life. ‘Burning’ is a song about that feeling, smoke signals for the soul. Begging to cool it down, just doing it the best we know how. Nick and I nodded to Frankie Valli’s ‘Begging’, with the line ‘oooh lay your red hand on me baby.’ We’ve cut a rug to many a soulful sixties bangers in our day, it was in our DNA by the time we wrote ‘Burning’.”

Karen O

‘Burning’ was constructed over a piano loop inspired by The Four Season’s ‘Beggin‘ and just like that song, it’s a dance floor bound banger, featuring cool keyboards and fuzzy guitars over which Karen O’s voice floats like a chanteuse from the sixties.

Stream / Buy ‘Burning’ HERE.

Pre-Order ‘Cool It Down’ HERE.


  1. Spitting Off the Edge of the World feat. Perfume Genius
  2. Lovebomb
  3. Wolf
  4. Fleez
  5. Burning
  6. Blacktop
  7. Different Today
  8. Mars

Photo credit: Jason Al-Taan

Previous News: Annie Keating Releases New Single ahead of Irish & UK Tour Dates, Limited Edition Ep only Available At Shows
Next Track: Bigfatbig Share EP Lead Single 'Shut Up!'

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.