Desperate Journalist release their timely new single ‘Resolution’ and get 2017 off to an explosive start.

The North London four-piece have followed up their comeback show at London’s Kamio in November – and the release of brooding track ‘Hollow’ – with their new single ‘Resolution’ released, fittingly, on 1 January (via Fierce Panda Records).

Taken from their eagerly anticipated second album, ‘Grow Up’ (due for release on 24 March), ‘Resolution’ is a more upbeat listen than ‘Hollow’ but doesn’t lose any of their familiar intensity. The spiralling layers of sound combine with Jo Bevan’s soaring vocals to reflect the spinning emotions – and heads – at this time of year.

“The song was written in a hotel room after a New Year’s Eve party when I was feeling particularly peculiar, unable to drink and on a lot of codeine” explains Bevan. “NYE is obviously an unusually heightened time to feel completely out of the loop with a group and when that happens to me, like everything else I can’t really cope with, I romanticise it into filmic fragments.”

From the sparkling beginning of synth sounds, that continue to shimmer when the riff kicks in, to Caz Hellbent’s tapping drums keeping the beat like a ticking clock the track winds up perfectly to each countdown chorus – “Five, four, three, two, one and it’s over”.

So it’s a new year but, thankfully, it’s the same dynamic Desperate Journalist. Make it your resolution to watch this band go from strength to strength in 2017.

Desperate Journalist 2017 tour dates
Saturday 28th January – Derby, Hairy Dog
Saturday 11th February – Stowmarket, John Peel Centre
Saturday 25th February – Manchester, The Live Room
Wednesday 29th March – Bristol, Louisiana
Thursday 30th March – Sheffield, Leadmill
Friday 31st March – Glasgow, Sleazys
Saturday 1st April – Birmingham, Sunflower Lounge
Thursday 6th April – London, Scala
Saturday 8th April – Mainz, TBA
Sunday 9th April – Freiburg, Slow Club
Tuesday 11th April – Stuttgart, Goldmarks
Wednesday 12th April – Cologne, Blue Shell
Thursday 13th April – Hamburg, Gruner Jager
Friday 14th April – Leipzig, Ilses Erika
Saturday 15th April – Bremen, Lagerhaus