Album Review: It’s no joke – Confidence Man about to Rock the World with new album ‘TILT’

Confidence Man

The Breakdown

Confidence Man's new album 'TILT' is a rollicking, hook-filled roller coaster ride through the 90s that is a Deee-Lite.
I Oh You 8.5

Brisbane-based electro pop quartet, Confidence Man released their sophomore album ‘TILT’ on 1st April. With this album, the band who are unashamedly chasing global domination, seem about to achieve their ambitious goal. ‘TILT’ has gained the attention of major music publications around the world and is garnering very positive reviews.

“Obnoxious and charmingly justified in its attitude, this twelve-track ecstasy pill conjures an immortal storm of relentless hype.” – Dork UK

Confidence Man is made up of singers Janet Planet and Sugar Bones who are backed up by Reggie Goodchild and Clarence McGuffie who supply the keyboards and drums.

From the opening track ‘Woman’ on which Janet Planet delivers a deadpan feminist declaration it’s clear that Confidence Man have evolved since the release of their last album. No longer just a brattish dance band, on ‘TILT’ the band draws on a range of sources to deliver a sophisticated and irresistible reinterpretation of 90s dance music. What has remained intact is the element of fun that characterised their first album ‘Confident Music for Confident People’.

The influence of 90s dance music, which was especially apparent on the previously-released single ‘Feels Like A Different Thing’ ensures that the new album delivers 12 tracks that are perfectly honed and brimming with the band’s trademark irresistible hooks.

‘What I Like’ features Sugar Bones on lead vocals, it’s a samba reinvented for the 2020s with a call and response chorus that is as silly as a Spice Girls song but just as addictive. ‘Toy Boy’ sees the band in groove overdrive with Janet’s lyrics staking a claim for female sexual empowerment. The sentiments expressed in the song concur with Madonna’s powerful expression of female sexuality early in her career and conjure up images of Madge’s iconic (and ironic) ‘Boy Toy’ VMA outfit. The 90s influences continue on ‘Holiday’ which sees Sugar referencing Underworld’s ‘Born Slippy’ in his background vocals.

‘Luvin’ U Is Easy’ is the next single from the album and it comes with a message from the band.

We know u love us. We see it in ur eyes. We hear it in ur tears. We feel it in ur energy. And sure, we can be a little cold. Some might even call us callous. So, here’s one for the lovers. Sit back, relax and enjoy.”

‘Relieve the Pressure’ is the final track and has Janet (very appropriately) singing in French because it is a full-tilt Eurodance onslaught, impossible to resist and perfectly summing up the ethos of ‘TILT’.

On ‘TILT’, Confidence Man take us on a sonic journey through the 90s, borrowing a bit of Dr Alban over here and a little Madonna over there and the result is an album that feels like a crazy time machine ride to a place and time of optimism and sheer Deee-Lite.

Get ‘TILT’ here.

TILT Tracklisting:

  1. Woman
  2. Feels Like A Different Thing
  3. What I Like
  4. Toy Boy
  5. Luvin U Is Easy
  6. Holiday
  7. Trumpet Song
  8. Angry Girl
  9. Push It Up
  10. Kiss N Tell
  11. Break It Bought It
  12. Relieve The Pressure

Confidence Man embark on their 24-date European tour next month. The massive tour will see them perform at Glastonbury, headline London’s O2 Forum (2400 cap) and support Noel Gallagher. The four-piece return home in July to play Splendour in the Grass before commencing their Australian headline tour, including performances at the Enmore Theatre, Fortitude Music Hall and Northcote Theatre.


Presented by Triple J
With Special Guests 1300 *

Fri 5 Aug | Enmore Theatre | Sydney, NSW * | Lic. all ages
Sat 6 Aug | Northcote Theatre | Melbourne, VIC * | 18+
Thu 18 Aug | Darwin Festival | Darwin, NT | All ages
Sat 20 Aug | Metropolis | Perth, WA * | 18+
Fri 26 Aug | The Fortitude Music Hall | Brisbane, QLD * | Lic. all ages
Sat 27 Aug | The Hindley Street Music Hall | Adelaide, SA * | 18+

Tickets available here.

Photo Credit: Josh Hourigan

Previous Live Review: Griff / Siights / Lola Young - Academy, Dublin 29.03.2022
Next Live Review: Less Than Jake / Millie Manders and the Shutup - Whelans, Dublin 29.03.2022

1 Comment

  1. […] their recently released, much-loved and acclaimed second album, TILT (check out our album review here), which came out on Heavenly Recordings in April. Written and self-produced by the band and mixed […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.