News: Pozi are set to release new album 19th of May.

Photo credit Chiara Gambuto

Pozi are the sort of band to tackle the creative cycle of deconstruction and rebuilding with relish. Second album Smiling Pools is testament to that. An LP that sees them at their most expansive yet, it follows a gradual swelling of their sound across two EPs preceding the urgent, self-enforced minimalism of their debut album PZ1 in 2019.

The trio of Toby Burroughs, Rosa Brook, and Tom Jones quickly established something of a foundational template on that first album: a hyper-skeletal sound palette of drums, bass and three distinct vocals disrupted by Rosa’s churning violins, from which emerged biting social observations and political angst.

These hallmarks haven’t fully gone away over time, but from that urgent energy there has emerged greater confidence and a playful desire to push further out from the loose genre tag of post-punk they were initially saddled with.

pre-order Smiling Pools here


1. What You Came For
2. Slightly Shaking Cells
3. Failing
4. Pest Control
5. Somnambulance
6. Through The Door
7. M6 Toll
8. Heavenly
9. Faulty Receiver
10. Shut Up
11. 24 Deliveru
12. A Walk in the Park

Pozi play live alongside PRAH pals Tony Njoku & Donna Thompson for Independent Venue Week on 31st January at Moth Club. Grab your tickets here.

Previous News: Louis VI SHARES 'Orange Skies' Ft Mick Jenkins - New album 'Earthling due 31st March.
Next Live Review: Lucinda Williams / L.A. Edwards - Vicar Street, Dublin 25.01.2023

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.